Add another marquee honor to Carli Lloyd's trophy case.

The Delran native was named to the first ever Women's World XI created by FIFPro, the global soccer players' union.

FIFPro welcomed female players into its ranks last summer for the first time in its 51-year history. As part of that recognition, the union established a women's team of the year to run alongside its renowned men's team of the year.

Just as the men's award is voted on by men's players around the world, the women's award is voted on by women's players around the world. FIFPro said its balloting included players of 33 different nationalities, and had representation from leagues or national teams in 20 different countries.

So in this instance, Lloyd was officially recognized by her peers. That means a little something extra.

"It's an honor to be selected by the players," Lloyd said in FIFPro's official announcement. "This is a great step forward in terms of equality, respect and recognition for women's football. I'd like to thank FIFPro for making this possible. It's an initiative that will be appreciated by female players all over the world."

Lloyd is one of four Americans in the women's XI. The others are goalkeeper Hope Solo and defenders Julie Johnston and Meghan Klingenberg.

Johnston's inclusion is not unexpected, but somewhat surprising given that Becky Sauerbrunn had the better overall World Cup - and the better overall season, since she led FC Kansas City to the National Women's Soccer League title.

But even though she was named U.S. national team co-captain after Abby Wambach retired, Sauerbrunn is not one to demand the spotlight. That may account for her lack of recognition among players in the rest of the world.

Here's the full FIFPro Women's World XI:

Goalkeeper: Hope Solo (United States/Seattle Reign)

Defenders: Wendie Renard (France/Lyon), Meghan Klingenberg (United States/Houston Dash),
Kadeisha Buchanan (Canada/West Virginia University), Julie Johnston (United States/Chicago Red Stars)

Midfielders: Carli Lloyd (United States/Houston Dash), Amandine Henry (France/Lyon),
Aya Miyama (Japan/Okoyama Yunogo Belle)

Forwards: Celia Sasic (Germany/1. FFC Frankfurt), Eugenie Le Sommer (France/Lyon), Anja Mittag (Germany/Paris Saint-Germain)