Sunday, February 14, 2016

Major League Soccer All-Star Game fan voting to begin Friday

Fan voting for the first 11 places on Major League Soccer's 32-player All-Star Game roster will begin Friday at noon.

Major League Soccer All-Star Game fan voting to begin Friday


Fan voting for the first 11 places on Major League Soccer's 32-player All-Star Game roster will begin Friday at noon.

Voting will be conducted on the league's website, as well as by text message and Twitter. One of the first 11 places will go to the player who receives the most votes by text message. The balloting will last until July 2, and the final squad list will be announced July 15.

Today, the league announced the six players from each team who will be on the ballot. Those players were selected by media members across the country.

The Union's six players are goalkeeper ZacMacMath; defenders Carlos Valdés and Sheanon Williams; midfielders Freddy Adu and Gabriel Gomez; and forward Lionard Pajoy.

More coverage
Get the latest Union news with the FREE Philly Sports Now iPhone app!
More soccer coverage from The Goalkeeper
USA 2015 Women's World Cup Champs Gear & Collectibles
2015 Philadelphia Union schedule
Major League Soccer national TV schedule

Here is the full list of candidates leaguewide, broken down by position. There was no requrirement that players be nominated at every position, which is why you will see that some teams have no nominees at some positions.


Chicago Fire: Sean Johnson
Chivas USA: Dan Kennedy
Colorado Rapids: Matt Pickens
Columbus Crew: Andy Gruenebaum

D.C. United: Bill Hamid
FC Dallas: Kevin Hartman
Houston Dynamo: Tally Hall
Los Angeles Galaxy: Josh Saunders

Montréal Impact: Donovan Ricketts
New England Revolution: Matt Reis
New York Red Bulls: Ryan Meara
Philadelphia Union: Zac MacMath

Portland Timbers: Troy Perkins
Real Salt Lake: Nick Rimando
San Jose Earthquakes: Jon Busch
Seattle Sounders: Michael Gspurning

Sporting Kansas City: Jimmy Nielsen
Toronto FC: Milos Kocic
Vancouver Whitecaps: Joe Cannon


Chicago Fire: Gonzalo Segares
Chivas USA: James Riley
Columbus Crew: Chad Marshall, Sebastian Miranda

D.C. United: none
FC Dallas: George John, Ugo Ihemelu
Houston Dynamo: Bobby Boswell, Geoff Cameron, André Hainault
Los Angeles Galaxy: Todd Dunivant

Montréal Impact: Matteo Ferrari
New England Revolution: A.J. Soares
New York Red Bulls: Heath Pearce
Philadelphia Union: Carlos Valdés, Sheanon Williams

Portland Timbers: Eric Brunner
Real Salt Lake: Nat Borchers, Jamison Olave
San Jose Earthquakes: Steven Beitashour
Seattle Sounders: Jeff Parke

Sporting Kansas City: Aurélien Collin
Toronto FC: Ashtone Morgan
Vancouver Whitecaps: Jay DeMerit, Lee Young-Pyo


Chicago Fire: Sebastián Grazzini, Marco Pappa, Pável Pardo
Chivas USA: Nick LaBrocca, Oswaldo Minda
Colorado Rapids: Drew Moor
Columbus Crew: Eddie Gaven, Milovan Mirosevic

D.C. United: Dwayne De Rosario, Nick DeLeon, Perry Kitchen, Chris Pontius
FC Dallas: Brek Shea, Daniel Hernandez
Houston Dynamo: Brad Davis
Los Angeles Galaxy: David Beckham, Landon Donovan, Juninho

Montréal Impact: Davy Arnaud, Felipe Martins
New England Revolution: Benny Feilhaber, Shalrie Joseph, Lee Nguyen
New York Red Bulls: Joel Lindpere, Dane Richards
Philadelphia Union: Freddy Adu, Gabriel Gomez

Portland Timbers: Diego Chará, Jack Jewsbury
Real Salt Lake: Kyle Beckerman
San Jose Earthquakes: Marvin Chávez, Rafael Baca
Seattle Sounders: Osvaldo Alonso, Mauro Rosales

Sporting Kansas City: Roger Espinoza, Graham Zusi
Toronto FC: Torsten Frings
Vancouver Whitecaps: Davide Chiumiento


Chicago Fire: Dominic Oduro
Chivas USA: Juan Pablo Ángel, Alejandro Moreno
Colorado Rapids: Omar Cummings
Columbus Crew: Emilio Renteria

D.C. United: Maicon Santos
FC Dallas: Blas Pérez
Houston Dynamo: Will Bruin
Los Angeles Galaxy: Robbie Keane

Montréal Impact: Bernardo Corradi
New England Revolution: Saer Sene
New York Red Bulls: Thierry Henry, Kenny Cooper
Philadelphia Union: Lionard Pajoy

Portland Timbers: Kris Boyd, Darlington Nagbe
Real Salt Lake: Álvaro Saborío, Fabián Espíndola
San Jose Earthquakes: Chris Wondolowski, Steven Lenhart
Seattle Sounders: Fredy Montero, David Estrada

Sporting Kansas City: Kei Kamara, C.J. Sapong
Toronto FC: Danny Koevermans, Ryan Johnson, Joao Plata
Vancouver Whitecaps: Camilo Sanvezzo, Sébastien Le Toux

Staff Writer
We encourage respectful comments but reserve the right to delete anything that doesn't contribute to an engaging dialogue.
Help us moderate this thread by flagging comments that violate our guidelines.

Comment policy: comments are intended to be civil, friendly conversations. Please treat other participants with respect and in a way that you would want to be treated. You are responsible for what you say. And please, stay on topic. If you see an objectionable post, please report it to us using the "Report Abuse" option.

Please note that comments are monitored by staff. We reserve the right at all times to remove any information or materials that are unlawful, threatening, abusive, libelous, defamatory, obscene, vulgar, pornographic, profane, indecent or otherwise objectionable. Personal attacks, especially on other participants, are not permitted. We reserve the right to permanently block any user who violates these terms and conditions.

Additionally comments that are long, have multiple paragraph breaks, include code, or include hyperlinks may not be posted.

Read 0 comments
comments powered by Disqus
About this blog
The Goalkeeper is your home for the latest news about the Philadelphia Union, Major League Soccer, the National Women's Soccer League, the U.S. men's and women's national teams, and the rest of the world's most popular sport. It's also a place for fans to gather and celebrate the culture of soccer and its unique place on the sports landscape.

Jonathan Tannenwald Staff Writer
Latest Videos:
Also on
letter icon Newsletter