Temple’s Dunphy named A-10 Coach of the Year

Fran Dunphy coached Temple to the Atlantic 10 regular season title. (Steven M. Falk/Staff file photo)

Temple coach Fran Dunphy has been named the Atlantic 10’s Coach of the Year, leading a fairly long list of local honorees from their respective conferences.

In case you missed any of the announcements, here’s a rundown of the major awards and local players honored by the Atlantic 10, Big East and CAA:

Atlantic 10

Major Awards

Coach of the Year: Fran Dunphy, Temple
Sixth Man of the Year: Ramone Moore, Temple
Student-Athlete of the Year: Yves Mekongo, La Salle
Player of the Year: Kevin Anderson, Richmond
Rookie of the Year: Chris Gaston, Fordham
Defensive Player of the Year: Damian Saunders, Duquesne
Most Improved: Chris Johnson, Dayton

Other Local Honorees

First Team: Lavoy Allen, Temple
Second Team: Ryan Brooks, Temple; Rodney Green, La Salle
Third Team: Jason Love, Xavier (Philadelphia/Abington Friends)
Honorable Mention: Juan Fernandez, Temple
Rookie Team: Aaric Murray, La Salle
Defensive Team: Lavoy Allen, Temple; Garrett Williamson, Saint Joseph’s

Big East

Individual awards will be announced Tuesday at the Big East Tournament.

Local Honorees

First Team: Scottie Reynolds, Villanova
Third Team: Corey Fisher, Villanova
Rookie Team: Maalik Wayns, Villanova

Colonial Athletic Association

Rookie of the Year: Chris Fouch, Drexel
Player of the Year: Charles Jenkins, Hofstra
Coach of the Year: Tony Shaver, William & Mary
Defensive Player of the Year: Larry Sanders, VCU
Leadership Award: David Schneider, William & Mary

Other Local Honorees

Second Team: Jawan Carter, Delaware
Third Team: Jamie Harris, Drexel
Rookie Team: Chris Fouch, Drexel
All-Academic Honorable Mention: Adam Pegg, Delaware