The Evolution of NFL Career Rushing Leader

Hall of Famer Steve van Buren is the only Eagle to lead the NFL in rushing yards (he did so four times) and he was also the league's career rushing leader for the better part of nine seasons.

Below is the progression of the NFL's career rushing leader.

Steve Van Buren

Also, take a look at van Buren's 10-game touchdown streak.

 Career Leader Broke Record  Final Total   
 Cliff Battles  1932-37    3,511
 Clarke Hinkle  1941    3,860
 Steve van Buren        1949    5,860
 Joe Perry  1958    9,723
 Jim Brown  Oct. 20, 1963       12,312
 Walter Payton  Oct. 7, 1984  16,726
 Emmitt Smith  Oct. 27, 2002  18,355

Continue Reading