Tamir Green sat on the bench last season for most of Constitution's Class A state championship run.

The 5-foot-8 guard had transferred from now-closed Palmer and was charged mostly with making star Kimar Williams (now at Florida International University) work hard in practice.

This season, however, Green has become the Generals' leading scorer.

Saturday afternoon, the junior's 14 points and six steals led to a 74-59 victory against visiting Sankofa.

"Coming into this year I knew I had to be a point guard, but I'll be honest, I didn't expect to have a good year," the North Philadelphia resident said. "I wasn't expecting to have the year I'm having. This is really my first year playing varsity minutes, so I thought maybe 10 or 11 points a game but not [this]."

Green, who averages about 15 points per game, said he transferred to Constitution in November of his sophomore year.

Back then the Generals were led by Williams, Ahmad Gilbert (now at Minnesota), and several other experienced players.

"Nobody knew about me," he said. "Last year, my job was to just cheer on the bench, and if I get in, be ready and play defense."

Later, he added: "I guarded Kimar in practice every day. He got me a lot better."

Green's defensive prowess was needed Saturday after Sankofa quickly cut an 11-point halftime deficit to just five points.

"[Coach Rob Moore] just said championship teams don't do that," Green said. "If we want to make a run at a Public League and state championship, we can't let them get a lead."

The Generals (11-9, 4-4 Division A) went on a 12-2 run, which bought ample separation. Maurice Waters finished with 16 points while Tyree Mitchell added 12 for Constitution.

The Warriors (7-14, 4-7 Division B) were led by Terron Bacon (22 points, 10 rebounds) and Naseem Brown (20 points).

Constitution 23 11 19 21 - 74

Sankofa Freedom 7 16 18 18 - 59

C: Tamir Green 14, Anthony Satchell 2, Maurice Waters 16, Youssef Diabate 8, Tyree Mitchell 12, Jerry Andrews-Fulton 2, Nasir Randolph 1, Jamaal Brown 5, Quadir White 3, Naeem Feggans 2, Leeron Wills-Worthy 2, Sias Seibert 4, Isaiah Patrick 3.

S: Naseem Brown 20, Rasheed Ross 7, Terron Bacon 22, Ibrahim Dabo 4, Yaseer Mckethan 3, Kobe Devine 3.