Delaware County animal control officers will be conducting a "sweep" in March for unlicensed dogs.
Local animal control officers and a state dog warden will check to see whether pets are properly licensed. The fine for having an unlicensed dog can range from $25 to $300.
In an effort to encourage Delaware County residents to license their dogs, the state Bureau of Dog Law is sending out a mailing this month to remind all residents that the yearly Jan. 1 deadline has passed. Last year, according to state officials, Delaware County sold 12,245 tags. More than 100,000 dogs are estimated to live in the county. For more information in Delaware County on how to buy a tag for your pet, call 610-891-4276 or go to www.co.delaware.pa.us/treasurer/dog.html.