The Union are set up in Orlando, Fla., this week for the Disney Pro Soccer Classic. Before arriving there, draft picks Robbie Derschang and Kevin Cope and trialist Michael Seamon were told their services were no longer needed.

Of the three, it's most surprising that Derschang didn't make the team. He and Fabinho were the only two left-footed outside defenders in the squad. So you can pretty well write in Fabinho as the team's starting left back on Opening Night, March 8 in Portland.

It's worth noting that just because a team drafts a player, that does not mean he is automatically signed to the team. So the Union didn't really lose anything except for a bit of pride by letting them go.

Here are the 31 players currently with the team:

Goalkeepers (3): Andre Blake, Brian Holt, Zac MacMath

Defenders (7): Fabinho, Raymon Gaddis, Matt Kassel, Richie Marquez (draft pick), Amobi Okugo, Ethan White, Sheanon Williams

Midfielders (16): Corben Bone, Brian Carroll, Danny Cruz, Keon Daniel, Maurice Edu, Leo Fernandes, Fred (trialist), Cristhian Hernández, Michael Lahoud, Sébastien Le Toux, Cristian Maidana, Jimmy McLaughlin, Vincent Nogueira*, Zach Pfeffer, Aodhan Quinn (draft pick), Pedro Ribeiro (draft pick)

Forwards (5): Clésio Bauque (trialist), Conor Casey, Antoine Hoppenot, Jack McInerney, Aaron Wheeler

I wrote earlier this month about Bauque and Fred if you're looking for information on them.

In that same post about Bauque, I wrote that the roster has to be at 30 players by March 1 if we're playing by last year's roster rules. In theory, we're playing by this year's roster rules, but they haven't been released yet. In theory, they are supposed to be released before the start of the 2014 season. Consider this a polite reminder to MLS headquarters that the clock is ticking.

So right now, there are 31 players for 30 roster spots. That assumes the team does not sign another central defender, and I have reason to believe that's a false assumption. We may find out more when John Hackworth holds his weekly conference call with the media on Thursday.

Until then, here's how things stand:

20-Player Main Roster

1. GK Zac MacMath

2. D Fabinho
3. D Ray Gaddis 
4. D Amobi Okugo
5. D Sheanon Williams
6. D Ethan White

7. M Corben Bone
8. M Brian Carroll
9. M Danny Cruz
10. M Keon Daniel
11. M Maurice Edu (Designated Player)
12. M Michael Lahoud
13. M Sébastien Le Toux
14. M Cristian Maidana (Designated Player)
15. M Cristhian Hernández (Homegrown) or M Fred
16. M Vincent Nogueira

17. F Conor Casey
18. F Antoine Hoppenot
19. F Jack McInerney 
20. F Aaron Wheeler

Off-Budget Players

21. M Cristhian Hernández (Homegrown) or F Clésio Bauque
22. D Matt Kassel
23. M Leo Fernandes
24. M Pedro Ribeiro

25. GK Brian Holt
26. D Richard Marquez
27. M Aodhan Quinn

28. GK Andre Blake (Generation Adidas)
29. M Jimmy McLaughlin (Homegrown)
30. M Zach Pfeffer (Homegrown)