Villanova coach Jay Wright, who led the Wildcats to their third consecutive Big East regular-season championship, was named one of four finalists Thursday for the Naismith  men's college coach of the year award presented by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

The other three finalists are Chris Mack of Xavier, Tom Crean of Indiana and Bill Self of Kansas. The inclusion of Mack gives the Big East two finalists for the award.

Wright, named the Big East co-coach of the year last week, has the Wildcats at 29-5 entering Friday's opening NCAA game against UNC-Asheville. Villanova replaced three starters – two graduates and one transfer – from last season's 33-3 team and finished 16-2 in the conference for the third straight year.