Saturday, October 10, 2015

Mexico names Rafael Márquez, Carlos Salcido to World Cup squad

Rafael Márquez (left) is heading to his fourth World Cup with Mexico´s national team.
Rafael Márquez (left) is heading to his fourth World Cup with Mexico's national team.

MEXICO CITY (AP) — Former New York Red Bulls defender Rafa Márquez has made Mexico's World Cup roster for the fourth time. 

The 35-year-old defender, who captained Mexico at the 2010 tournament, was among 23 players selected Friday by Miguel Herrera, hired last October as El Tri's fourth coach in six weeks. Márquez scored as Mexico tied host South Africa in the 2010 World Cup opener and played for the Red Bulls from 2010-12 before signing with León. 

Carlos Salcido, a 34-year-old left back, was selected for his third straight World Cup. Salacido, a member of Mexico's gold medal-winning team at the 2012 London Olympics, was picked for the national team for the first time since Herrera became coach. 

"Regarding Salcido, we don't need to give him a tryout," Herrera said. "We've watched him in the Mexican league. He's a versatile player who can play in many positions in the back, and also at midfield." 

More coverage
  • Download FREE Philly Sports Now app for iPhone!
  • More soccer coverage from The Goalkeeper
  • USA 2015 Women's World Cup Champs Gear & Collectibles
  • 2015 Philadelphia Union schedule
  • Major League Soccer national TV schedule
  • Nine players returned from the 2010 roster, with Paul Aguilar, Giovani Dos Santos, Andrés Guardado, Javier Hernández, Héctor Moreno, Guillermo Ochoa and Francisco Rodríguez also selected. 

    Among those left off were goalkeeper Moisés Muñoz, who played for Herrera when he coached Club America, and midfielder Javier Aquino of Spain's Villarreal. 

    "We feel for players who were left out," Herrera said. "The decisions were made with the head, not the heart." 

    Real Sociedad forward Carlos Vela, who said months ago he would not play and cited unspecified personal reasons. 

    Mexico is in Group A with Brazil, Croatia and Cameroon. 


    Goalkeepers: José de Jesús Corona (Cruz Azul), Guillermo Ochoa (Ajaccio/France), Alfredo Talavera (Toluca)

    Defenders: Paul Aguilar (América), Andrés Guardado (Bayer Leverkusen/Germany), Miguel Layún (América), Rafael Márquez (León), Héctor Moreno (Espanyol/Spain), Diego Reyes (FC Porto/Portugal), Francisco Javier Rodríguez (América), Carlos Salcido (Tigres)

    Midfielders: Isaác Brizuela (Toluca), Marco Fabián (Cruz Azul), Héctor Herrera (FC Porto/Portugal), Juan Carlos Medina (América), Luis Montes (León), Carlos Peña (León), José Juan Vázquez (León)

    Forwards: Giovani Dos Santos (Villareal/Spain), Javier Hernández (Manchester United/England), Raúl Jiménez (América), Oribe Peralta (Santos Laguna), Alan Pulido (Tigres)

    The Associated Press
    Latest Videos:
    Also on
    letter icon Newsletter