Collins finished second in Coach of the Year voting

The Sixers finished 41-41 in the regular season under first-year head coach Doug Collins. (Yong Kim/Staff Photographer)

Sixers coach Doug Collins finished second in the voting for NBA Coach of the Year.

Collins received 18 first-place votes, 31 seconds and 27 thirds for 210 points to finish well behind Chicago's Tom Thibodeau.

Thibodeau totaled 475 points, including 76 first-place votes, from a panel of 119 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Coaches were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote.

San Antonio's Gregg Poppovich was third with 177 points. 

In his first season as a head coach, Thibodeau guided Chicago to a league-best 62-20 (.756) record, the most wins for a Chicago team since the 1997-98 Bulls also won 62. The 62 wins represented a 21-game improvement from the Bulls’ 41-41 campaign in 2009-10, marking the third-best single-season turnaround in franchise history. Chicago was one of two teams, along with Boston, in the NBA this year that did not lose more than two games in a row.

With 62 wins in his rookie campaign, Thibodeau joined Paul Westphal (62 in 1992-93) and Bill Russell (60 in 1966-67) as the only head coaches in NBA history who won 60 or more games in their first year as a head coach.

Download our new iPhone/Android app for all of our Sixers coverage, plus app-exclusive analysis and videos.