Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Inquirer Daily News

Tiger Woods’ agent may sue Brandel Chamblee for suggesting his client cheated

Tiger Woods’ agent, Mark Steinberg, told ESPN.com on Friday that he may take legal action against Brandel Chamblee over the Golf Channel analyst’s suggestion that the world No. 1 was a cheater.

Chamblee, in a Golf.com article, compared his own cheating on a math test in the fourth grade to Woods’ “cavalier” attitude toward the Rules of Golf during the 2013 golf season. Steinberg, of Excel Sports Management, told ESPN.com in a statement and during a phone interview that he was upset with Chamblee’s characterization of his client as someone trying to break the rules.

“Brandel Chamblee's comments are shameful, baseless and completely out of line,” Steinberg told ESPN.com. “In his rulings, Tiger voiced his position, accepted his penalty and moved on. There was no intention to deceive anyone. Chamblee's uninformed and malicious opinions, passed on as facts, and his desperate attempt to garner attention is deplorable.”

Steinberg further elaborated by saying there was “nothing you can call a golfer worse than a cheater.

"This is the most deplorable thing I have seen. I'm not one for hyperbole, but this is absolutely disgusting,” Steinberg said. “Calling him a cheater? I'll be shocked, stunned if something is not done about this. Something has to be done.

"There are certainly things that just don't go without response. It's atrocious. I'm not sure if there isn't legal action to be taken. I have to give some thought to legal action."

The potential litigation arose after Chamblee, one of the most vociferous and frequent critics of all-things Tiger Woods, gave the 14-time major winner who earned five PGA Tour victories as well as player of the year honors in the season just ended, an “F” on a report card of several players.

The ruckus arose after Chamblee justified his ridiculous failing grade because of his opinion that Woods played fast and loose with the rules on four separate occasions, which SBNation detailed in an earlier article.

"When I was in the fourth grade, I cheated on a math test and when I got the paper back it had '100' written at the top and just below the grade, was this quote: 'Oh, what a tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive!' It was an oft-quoted line from the epic poem 'Marmion' by Sir Walter Scott, and my teacher's message was clear,” Chamblee wrote.

“Written once more beneath that quote was my grade of '100,' but this time with a line drawn through it and beneath that an F. I never did ask my teacher how she knew I cheated and I certainly didn't protest the grade. I knew I had done the wrong thing and my teacher the right, but I never forgot the way I felt when I read that quote.”

The winner of one tour victory in his playing career, Chamblee went on to suggest that his own wrongdoing somehow equated to Woods’ rules breaches, neglecting to point out that Tiger was duly punished for each violation and that his own playing partners had no quarrels with the outcomes.

"I remember when we only talked about Tiger's golf. I miss those days,” Chamblee said. “He won five times and contended in majors and won the Vardon Trophy and ... how shall we say this ... was a little cavalier with the rules."

While Chamblee did not actually come out and call Woods a cheater, Steinberg said the implication was clear.

"This is, 'Hey, look at me,' in its lowest form," Steinberg said in his statement. "Brandel Chamblee's comments are shameful, baseless and completely out of line. In his rulings, Tiger voiced his position, accepted his penalty and moved on. There was no intention to deceive anyone. Chamblee's uninformed and malicious opinions, passed on as facts, and his desperate attempt to garner attention is deplorable."

As we noted earlier, Woods’ infractions involved an illegal drop at the Abu Dhabi Championship that cost him a two-stroke penalty and a missed cut, and the controversial Masters flagstick carom into the water in front of the green and ended up in a questionable drop and another two-shot penalty and some observers, including Chamblee, calling for to be disqualified.

At The Players Championship, Woods hit his drive on the 14th hole of the final round into the water and conferred with playing partner Casey Wittenberg about where the ball crossed the hazard line before dropping his ball.

Woods incurred another two-shot penalty at last month’s BMW Championship after his ball moved as he tried to remove a loose impediment. Tiger believes the orb only oscillated but in the end was assessed the two strokes because he did not replace the ball to its original spot.

As Steinberg told ESPN.com, Chamblee can give Woods whatever "silly" grade he chooses.

"But this goes so far above that and is out of bounds," he said. "It's stunning."

This article originally appeared on SBNation.

Click here for the full article »
SBNation
Latest Videos:
Also on Philly.com:
Stay Connected