Monday, September 8, 2014
Inquirer Daily News

2013 NASCAR standings: Victory keeps Matt Kenseth atop of standings

Just as they finished in NASCAR's first Chase for the Sprint Cup race, Matt Kenseth and Kyle hold the top two positions in the Sprint Cup Series standings.

Following his sixth victory of the year, Kenseth has an eight-point edge over his Joe Gibbs Racing teammate. Busch is just three points ahead of third-place Jimmie Johnson, who finished fifth in the rain-delayed Geico 400.

A third-place run by Kevin Harvick moved him to fourth overall, while ranked fifth is Carl Edwards, the regular season points leader, who had an up-and-down night and was scored in 11th.

Positions six through 10 are occupied by Kurt Busch (finished fourth), Jeff Gordon (sixth), Ryan Newman (10th), Clint Bowyer (ninth) and Kasey Kahne (12th).

The championship hopes of Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Joey Logano took a significant hit Sunday, as each suffered a motor failure. Earnhardt's blown engine resulted in substantial fire underneath his car and he finished 35th. Logano, who led the opening 32 laps, placed 37th.

Consequently, Logano and Earnhardt sit in the bottom two positions of the Chase standings. Logano is ranked 12th, 52 points out of the lead. Earnhardt is 13th, 53 points in arrears of Kenseth.

"It's going to be really hard to win a championship this far behind," Earnhardt said. "... We have some pretty tough competition in the Chase. The average finish is going to be inside the top 10 to win the championship. So you can do the numbers, you can do the math."

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Standings

Place Driver Points Behind Wins
1 Matt Kenseth 2063 --- 6
2 Kyle Busch 2055 -8 4
3 Jimmie Johnson 2052 -11 4
4 Kevin Harvick 2048 -15 2
5 Carl Edwards 2040 -23 2
6 Kurt Busch 2040 -23 0
7 Jeff Gordon 2039 -24 0
8 Ryan Newman 2035 -28 1
9 Clint Bowyer 2035 -28 0
10 Kasey Kahne 2032 -31 2
11 Greg Biffle 2032 -31 1
12 Joey Logano 2011 -52 1
13 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 2010 -53 0
14 Brad Keselowski 758 -1305 0
15 Jamie McMurray 747 -1316 0
16 Paul Menard 720 -1343 0
17 Martin Truex Jr. 717 -1346 1
18 Aric Almirola 696 -1367 0
19 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 680 -1383 0
20 Juan Pablo Montoya 668 -1395 0

More from SB Nation:

Complete coverage of the 2013 Sprint Cup Chase

Mark Martin: Rule change won't stop "monkey business"

Bianchi: By adding Gordon, NASCAR's rep takes another hit

NASCAR faces questions about its integrity

Longform: The good times and hard life of Dick Trickle

This article originally appeared on SBNation.

Click here for the full article »
Latest Videos:
Also on
Stay Connected