Saturday, August 2, 2014
Inquirer Daily News

Fox unveils NFL teams for 2013 season


The NFL on Fox is shaking things up a bit this season, adding a new play-by-play man, a new color analyst, and at least two new sideline reporters.

Fox, which is headed into its 20th season broadcasting the NFL, will keep its top three teams (Joe Buck, Troy Aikman, Pam Oliver; Kenny Albert, Daryl Johnston, Tony Siragusa; Thom Brennaman, Brian Billick, Laura Okmin) in place. Buck heads into his 12th season as the lead voice of the network's football coverage. He and Aikman will call their fourth Super Bowl together in New Jersey on February 2, 2014. Their first game this season will be the Packers visiting the 49ers in Week 1.

The newest team has been well-publicized in recent months. Kevin Burkhardt, SNY's sideline reporter for their New York Mets broadcasts, will call play-by-play with analyst John Lynch and reporter Erin Andrews. Andrews, who was also recently named host of Fox College Saturday, worked spot assignments with Buck, Aikman and Oliver last season. This team's first assignment will be one that keeps Burkhardt within his usual broadcast region: Buccaneers-Jets from the Meadowlands in Week 1.

More coverage
  • VIDEO: Eagles stress physicality in secondary
  • VOTE: Should Kelly have more say in personnel decisions?
  • Kempski's Corner: Will Foles shine or fade during camp?
  • VOTE: Will Eagles training camp go smoothly?
  • FORUMS: Debate the Eagles' draft
  • DOWNLOAD: Philly Pro Football app
  • Grading the Eagles' draft picks
  • Finally, Fox's third new team features an old hand at play-by-play with a first-time analyst. Ronde Barber, whom Fox hired this off-season, will call games with veteran play-by-play man Dick Stockton and sideline reporter Kris Budden. Barber joined Fox following his retirement after the 2012 season. Their first assignment will be Cardinals-Rams in Week 1.

    In a more minor move, Molly McGrath -- a former Celtics sideline reporter who joined Fox Sports 1 as an update anchor -- will roam the sidelines as part of Fox's seventh-most prominent broadcast team. That team features the legendary Sam Rosen on play-by-play and Heath Evans doing color commentary. That crew won't begin working until Week 2.

    NFL on Fox broadcast teams and first assignments


    Broadcasters First Game
    1. Joe Buck, Troy Aikman, Pam Oliver Week 1: Green Bay vs. San Francisco, 4:25 p.m. ET
    2. Kenny Albert, Daryl Johnston, Tony Siragusa Week 1: Atlanta vs. New Orleans, 1 p.m. ET
    3. Thom Brennaman, Brian Billick, Laura Okmin Week 1: Minnesota vs. Detroit, 1 p.m. ET
    4. Kevin Burkhardt, John Lynch, Erin Andrews Week 1: Tampa Bay vs. NY Jets, 1 p.m. ET
    5. Chris Myers, Tim Ryan, Jennifer Hale Week 1: Seattle vs. Carolina, 1 p.m. ET
    6. Dick Stockton, Ronde Barber, Kris Budden Week 1: Arizona vs. St. Louis, 4:25 p.m. ET
    7. Sam Rosen, Heath Evans, Molly McGrath Week 2: Detroit vs. Arizona, 4:05 p.m. ET

    This article originally appeared on SBNation.

    Click here for the full article »
    Latest Videos:
    Also on
    Stay Connected