THANKFULLY, THE six-pack of people didn't wind up needing six-packs of beer.

Ben Dubin, the Public League's basketball chairman, said everything went smoothly last night during a meeting to determine seeding for the upcoming playoffs.

"I'm really pleased," he said. "There were a lot of unanimous decisions, especially at the tops and bottoms of the brackets. The differing opinions were in the middle."

Aside from Dubin, the seeding committee consisted of James Brown (Bartram) from Division A, Jason Harrigan (Del-Val) from B, Tina Wiggins (Overbrook) from C, Omar Richburg (Mastery South) from D and Isaiah Thomas (Sankofa) from E.

All rounds of the playoffs, through the quarterfinals, will take place within classifications. The play-in games will be held Tuesday, at the home courts of the higher seeds, with the first regular round set for next Thursday.

Three teams in AAAA, six in AAA, three in AA and seven in A will not be involved in the play-ins.




Games tentatively scheduled for 3:15


Kensington (13) at Frankford (4)

Lincoln (12) at Washington (5)

Gratz (11) at Olney (6)

Southern (10) at Northeast (7)

Overbrook (9) at Central (8)

Byes: 1, Fels. 2, Bartram, 3, King.


Dobbins (10) at Bok (7)

West Phila. (9) at Roxborough (8)

Byes: 1, Phila. Elec. 2, E&S. 3, Boys' Latin. 4, Univ. City. 5, Franklin. 6, Franklin LC.


Phila. Acad. (13) at Comm Tech (4)

Mastery North (12) at Esperanza (5)

Hope (11) at Prep Charter (6)

Sayre (10) at Freire (7)

Masterman (9) at Straw. Mansion (8)

Byes: 1, Imhotep. 2, Vaux. 3, Del-Val.


Parkway West (9) at World Comm (8)

Byes: 1, MC&S/Constitution. 2, MC&S/Constitution. 3, Robeson. 4, Palmer. 5, Lamberton. 6, Sankofa. 7, New Media.

Note: MC&S and Constitution meet tonight, 7 o'clock, at Franklin.