Thursday, November 27, 2014
Inquirer Daily News

Flyers get 16 national TV games in 2014-15

The Flyers will get among the most national TV exposure of any team in the National Hockey League in the 2014-15 season. They'll make 16 appearances on NBC and NBCSN combined, with 12 of them being exclusive national telecasts.

Flyers get 16 national TV games in 2014-15

Mike "Doc" Emrick, NBC´s lead hockey play-by-play voice. (Photo courtesy of NBC Sports Group)
Mike "Doc" Emrick, NBC's lead hockey play-by-play voice. (Photo courtesy of NBC Sports Group)

The Flyers will get among the most national TV exposure of any team in the National Hockey League in the 2014-15 season. They'll make 16 appearances on NBC and NBCSN combined, with 12 of them being exclusive national telecasts.

The other four will be simulcast locally by Comcast SportsNet, and the national broadcasts will be blacked out. It hasn't been announced yet exactly which four games those would be, but any national broadcast not on Wednesday night or on NBC over-the-air could end up as one of the four.

It's notable that the Flyers will appear on three of NBC's highest-profile broadcasts in the coming campaign. One is on opening night, November 8, as NBCSN airs their game at Boston. The other two are NBC over-the-air telecasts of home games against the New York Rangers: November 28 (Black Friday) at 1:00 p.m., and February 28 at 8:00 p.m. The latter game will be NBC's first prime time broadcast of an an indoor regular season game in its current era of broadcasting the NHL.

Here are the Flyers games that will air on NBC and NBCSN. All times are Eastern:

Wednesday, October 8: at Boston Bruins, 7:30 p.m. (NBCSN)
Tuesday, October 21: at Chicago Blackhawks, 8:30 p.m. (NBCSN)*
Wednesday, October 22: at Pittsburgh Penguins, 8:00 p.m. (NBCSN)

Wednesday, November 19: at New York Rangers, 8:00 p.m. (NBCSN)
Friday, November 28: vs. New York Rangers, 1:00 p.m. (NBC)

Tuesday, December 2: at San Jose Sharks, 10:00 p.m. (NBCSN)*

Wednesday, January 14: at Washington Capitals, 8:00 p.m. (NBCSN)
Tuesday, January 20: vs. Pittsburgh Penguins, 7:30 p.m. (NBCSN)*

Sunday, February 15: at Buffalo Sabres, 7:30 p.m. (NBCSN)*
Sunday, February 22: vs. Washington Capitals, 12:30 p.m. (NBC)
Tuesday, February 24: at Carolina Hurricanes, 7:00 p.m. (NBCSN)*
Saturday, Februrary 28: vs. New York Rangers, 8:00 p.m. (NBC)

Wednesday, March 25: vs. Chicago Blackhawks, 8:00 p.m. (NBCSN)

Wednesday, April 1: at Pittsburgh Penguins, 8:00 p.m. (NBCSN)
Sunday, April 5: vs. Pittsburgh Penguins, 12:30 p.m. (NBC)

* - subject to potential blackout in the Philadelphia region if also broadcast locally

The Flyers will also make 23 appearances on Canadian national television as part of the NHL's new 12-year, $5.2 billion deal with Rogers Communications and Québecor that starts this season. You won't be able to watch those broadcasts on TV or online unless you're outside of the Philadelphia TV market, but it's worth noting because of the number of channels that will be uses to air games.

Between CBC, Rogers' regional and national networks and TVA's networks, up to six games can air simultaneously during the traditional Saturday "Hockey Night in Canada" window. There will also be Saturday afternoon games and Sunday night games as well as a full slate of weeknight games in the deal.

Here's when the Flyers will be featured for our northern neighbors:

Saturday, October 11: vs. Montréal Canadiens, 7:00 p.m. (City TV)
Saturday, October 25: vs. Detroit Red Wings, 7:00 p.m. (Sportsnet 360)

Thursday, November 6: vs. Florida Panthers, 7:00 p.m. (Sportsnet 360)
Saturday, November 8: vs. Colorado Avalanche, 7:00 p.m. (HNIC channel TBA)
Saturday, November 15: at Montréal Canadiens, 7:00 p.m. (HNIC channel TBA)
Wednesday, November 19: at New York Rangers, 8:00 p.m. (Sportsnet One)
Friday, November 28: vs. New York Rangers, 1:00 p.m. (Sportsnet 360)

Saturday, December 20: at Toronto Maple Leafs, 7:00 p.m. (HNIC channel TBA)

Saturday, January 3: at New Jersey Devils, 7:00 p.m. (HNIC channel TBA)
Thursday, January 8: vs. Washington Capitals, 7:00 p.m. (Sportsnet 360)
Wednesday, January 14: at Washington Capitals, 8:00 p.m. (Sportnet One)
Saturday, January 17: at Buffalo Sabres, 7:00 p.m. (HNIC channel TBA)
Tuesday, January 20: vs. Pittsburgh Penguins, 7:30 p.m. (Sportsnet One)
Saturday, January 31: vs. Toronto Maple Leafs, 7:00 p.m. (HNIC channel TBA)

Thursday, February 5: vs. New York Islanders, 7:00 p.m. (Sportsnet 360)
Sunday, February 15: vs. Buffalo Sabres, 7:30 p.m. (City TV)
Saturday, February 28: vs. New York Rangers, 8:00 p.m. (HNIC channel TBA)

Thursday, March 5: vs. St. Louis Blues, 7:00 p.m. (Sportsnet 360)
Sunday, March 15: at Ottawa Senators, 7:00 p.m. (City TV)
Saturday, March 21: at Edmonton Oilers, 10:00 p.m. (HNIC channel TBA)
Wednesday, March 25: vs. Chicago Blackhawks, 8:00 p.m. (Sportsnet One)

Wednesday, April 1: vs. Pittsburgh Penguins, 8:00 p.m. (NBCSN)
Tuesday, April 7: vs. New York Islanders, 7:00 p.m. (Sportsnet network TBA)

More coverage
 
WATCH: Flyers-Red Wings highlights
 
Box score: Red Wings 5, Flyers 2
 
DOWNLOAD: Philly Pro Hockey app ยป
 
ARCHIVES: What caused rift between Lindros and Flyers?
 
Buy Flyers jerseys and other gear
 
2014-15 Flyers schedule
 
Forum: Will the Flyers be a contender this season?
 
Latest hockey odds
About this blog
Pattison Ave. offers an eclectic mix of news and nuggets about Philadelphia sports and beyond. Live chats, analysis, random thoughts, viral videos, odds and ends -- you'll find it all here.

Jonathan Tannenwald Sports Producer
Justin Klugh Sports Producer
Jerry Gaul Sports Producer
Vaughn Johnson Sports Producer
Andrew Albert Sports Producer
Michael Kaskey-Blomain Assistant Sports Producer
Latest Videos:
Also on Philly.com:
Stay Connected