Can LeSean McCoy lead the NFL in rushing?

Last season, LeSean McCoy led the NFL in rushing touchdowns and total touchdowns. (Yong Kim/Staff Photographer)

LeSean McCoy is coming off one of the best seasons for an Eagles running back in team history. He led the NFL in rushing touchdowns (17), total touchdowns (20), first downs (102) and 10+ yard rushes (48).

The only other Eagle to ever lead the league in touchdowns was Steve Van Buren in 1945 and 1947. McCoy’s 17 rushing touchdowns passed Van Buren for the single-season team record.

Having passed Van Buren once last year, can McCoy bump the Eagles great from another claim to fame in 2012?

The last Eagle to lead the NFL in rushing was Van Buren in 1949. McCoy finished fourth last year with 1,309 yards, and didn’t play the final game because of an ankle sprain.

Maurice Jones-Drew led the NFL (1,606), but he hasn’t reported to offseason workouts or training camp with Jacksonville. The other two backs finished just slightly ahead of McCoy: Ray Rice (1,364) and Michael Turner (1,340).

The one man who could stop McCoy is his own coach. With so many skill-position weapons at his disposal, Andy Reid doesn’t have to rely on one back, as Jacksonville did with Jones-Drew, who finished with 343 carries compared to McCoy’s 273.

By the way, the Eagles are in a select company of organizations that haven’t had a rushing champion since 1950. While 26 organizations have—including some no longer in existence—just Atlanta, Carolina, Cincinnati, Pittsburgh, Seattle and Tampa Bay join the Eagles.

Pittsburgh is a surprise considering Franco Harris finished his career in 1984 as the third all-time career rusher, behind only Walter Payton and Jim Brown.

So, can McCoy get the Eagles off the list?