Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Inquirer Daily News

Temple, Saint Joseph's, La Salle release 2012-13 basketball schedules

Teams across the Atlantic 10 are announcing their basketball schedules today. So far Temple and Saint Joseph's have released their slates.

Temple, Saint Joseph's, La Salle release 2012-13 basketball schedules

Teams across the Atlantic 10 are announcing their basketball schedules today. So far Temple and Saint Joseph's have released their slates.

The Owls have a number of big games. Their non-conference schedule includes neutral-site games against Duke at the Izod Center and Syracuse at Madison Square Garden. There's also a trip to famed Allen Fieldhouse to face Kansas.

That game and the season-ending home game against Virginia Commonwealth will be televised by CBS over-the-air. It is the first time since the 2001-02 season that Temple will appear on network television.

Here's the Owls' schedule. Tip times and TV information are shown for games where they have been announced.

Tue., November 13: at Kent State (12:00 p.m., ESPN)
Sat., November 17: RICE
Sun., November 25: DELAWARE
Wed., November 28: at Buffalo

Sat., December 1: WAGNER
Wed., December 5: at Villanova (9:00 p.m., ESPN2)
Sat., December 8: Duke (Izod Center/East Rutherford, N.J., 3:15 p.m., ESPN)
Wed., December 12: TOWSON

Mon., December 17: Team TBA (Gotham Classic at the Liacouras Center)
Wed., December 19: Team TBA (Gotham Classic at the Liacouras Center)
Sat., December 22: Syracuse (Gotham Classic at Madison Square Garden/New York, N.Y., 12:00 p.m., ESPN2)
Sat., December 29: Team TBA (Gotham Classic at the Liacouras Center)
Mon., December 31: Bowling Green

Sun., January 6: at Kansas (1:30 or 4:30 p.m., CBS)
Thu., January 10: at Xavier (CBS Sports Network Regional Syndication)|
Sat., January 12: SAINT LOUIS (6:00 p.m., ESPNU)
Wed., January 16: at George Washington

Sat., January 19: ST. BONAVENTURE (1:00 p.m., CBS Sports Network)
Wed., January 23: PENN
Sat., January 26: at Butler (6:00 p.m., ESPN2)
Wed., January 30: RICHMOND

Sat., February 2: at Saint Joseph’s (6:00 p.m., CBS Sports Network)
Wed., February 6: CHARLOTTE
Sat., February 9: at Dayton (11:00 a.m., ESPNU)
Thu., February 14: DUQUESNE

Sat., February 16: at Massachusetts (6:00 p.m., CBS Sports Network)
Thu., February 21: LA SALLE (7:00 p.m., CBS Sports Network)
Sun., February 24: at Charlotte

Sat., March 2: RHODE ISLAND
Wed., March 6: at Fordham
Sun., March 10: VCU (12:00 p.m., CBS)

Thu., March 14‐Sun. March 17: Atlantic 10 championship at Barclays Center, Brooklyn, N.Y.

Home games in CAPS at the Liacouras Center.


Saint Joseph's will open its season on November 12 against Yale in the Coaches vs. Cancer Classic.

The big game for the Hawks, the Holy War vs. Villanova, will be at the Wildcats' Pavilion on December 11. That game and another Big 5 contest, against Penn at the Palestra on January 19, will be nationally televised.

Here is the Hawks' schedule, with television information where it is known so far. Game times and the full television schedule are to be announced.

Mon., November 12: YALE (Coaches vs. Cancer Classic)
Fri., November 16: Team TBA (Coaches vs. Cancer Classic/Barclays Center, Brooklyn, N.Y.)
Sat., November 17: C v C Classic (Barclays Center, Brooklyn, N.Y.)

Tue., November 20: HARVARD
Wed., November 28: AMERICAN
Sat., December 1: at Creighton
Tue., December 4: at Coppin State

Tue., December 11: at Villanova (ESPNU)
Sat., December 22: FAIRFIELD
Fri., December 28: IONA
Mon., December 31: at Drexel

Sat., January 5: at Morgan State
Wed., January 9: BUTLER
Sat., January 12: at Duquesne
Thu., January 17: at VCU (CBS Sports Network)

Sat., January 19: PENN (at the Palestra, ESPN2 or ESPNU)
Wed., January 23: ST. BONAVENTURE
Sat., January 26: XAVIER (CBS Sports Network)
Wed., January 30: at Fordham

Sat., February 2: TEMPLE (6:00 p.m., CBS Sports Network)
Wed., February 6: at Dayton
Sat., February 9: at Massachusetts (ESPN2)
Wed., February 13: RICHMOND

Sat., February 16: at La Salle (at the Palestra, 1:00 p.m., A‐10 TV)
Sat., February 23: GEORGE WASHINGTON
Wed., February 27: at Saint Louis (CBS Sports Network)

Sat., March 2: FORDHAM
Wed., March 6: RHODE ISLAND
Sat., March 9: at Charlotte

Thu., March 14‐Sun. March 17: Atlantic 10 championship at Barclays Center, Brooklyn, N.Y.

Home games in CAPS at Michael J. Hagan '85 Arena unless noted.


La Salle's schedule is highlighted by games at the Palestra against Penn State and St. Joe's, and a mid-winter trip to Florida to face Miami. Here's the Explorers' slate.

All times are TBA unless stated:

Fri, November 2: CARLETON (Exhibition)
Sat., November 10: DELAWARE (3:00 p.m., Homecoming)
Sun. November 18: CENTRAL CONNECTICUT STATE
Tue., November 20: at Hartford

Sun., November 25: VILLANOVA (1:00 PM, CBS Sports Network)
Thu., November 29: at Rider
Wed, December 5: PENN STATE (at the Palestra)
Sat., December 8: at Northeastern

Sat., December 15: at Bucknell
Thu., December 20: IONA
Sat., December 22: SACRED HEART
Sat., December 29: at Siena

Wed., January 2: at Miami, Fla.
Sat., January 5: PENN
Wed., January 9: at Charlotte
Sat., January 12: RICHMOND

Wed., January 16: DAYTON
Sat., January 19: at Xavier (CBS Sports Network Regional Syndication)
Wed., January 23: BUTLER 
Sat., January 26: at VCU (8:00 p.m., CBS Sports Network)
Wed, January 30: MASSACHUSETTS

Sat., February 2: at George Washington
Sat., February 9: FORDHAM
Wed., February 13: at St. Bonaventure
Sat., February 16: SAINT JOSEPH’S (at the Palestra, 1:00 p.m, A-10 TV)

Thu., February 21: at Temple (7:00 p.m., CBS Sports Network)
Sun., February 24: at Rhode Island
Sat., March 2: DUQUESNE
Wed., March 6: GEORGE WASHINGTON
Sat, March 9: at Saint Louis (2:30 p.m., A-10 TV)

Thu., March 14‐Sun. March 17: Atlantic 10 championship at Barclays Center, Brooklyn, N.Y.

Home games in CAPS at Tom Gola Arena unless noted.

About this blog

Philly is a hoops town and Phillyhoopsinsider.com provides complete coverage of the Big 5 and Drexel with news and commentary from the people inside the game and those who cover it. Look for regular contributions from the Daily News team of college hoops reporters and from many of Philly’s coaches.

Written by the Big Five coaches
Latest Videos:
Also on Philly.com:
Stay Connected