Temple vs. UConn series at a glance

Temple has had success against Connecticut.

The Owls own an 8-4 series advantage and won the last meeting, 30-16, two seasons ago at Lincoln Financial Field.

But Saturday’s Big East Conference road game is expected to be a tough one for Temple (2-2, 1-0 Big East).

The Huskies (3-3, 0-1) might have the best defense the Owls will face all season. Temple is winless in games played at Connecticut’s Rentschler Field.  And UConn will have added motivation playing in front of its homecoming crowd.

Here’s look at the Temple vs. UConn series:


Temple all-time vs. Connecticut:               8-4

Temple in games at Temple:                     5-1

Temple in games at Connecticut:              3-3

First meeting in series:                            1963 at Temple Stadium; W, 9-7

Last meeting in series:                            2010 at Lincoln Financial Field; W, 30-16



Year       Site                                     Results                  TU Coach             UConn Coach

1963       Temple Stadium                    W, 9-7                 George Makris         Robert Ingalls

1964       Memorial Stadium                 L, 25-7                George Makris         Richard Forzano

1965       Memorial Stadium                W, 12-11              George Makris          Richard Forzano

1966       Temple Stadium                   W, 35-25              George Makris          John L. Toner

1970       Temple Stadium                   W, 41-23              Wayne Hardin          John L. Toner

1971       Memorial Stadium                W, 38-0                Wayne Hardin          Robert Casciola

2001       Franklin Field                       W, 56-7                Bobby Wallace         Randy Edsall

2002       Memorial Stadium                W, 38-24              Bobby Wallace         Randy Edsall

2004       Rentschler Field                   L, 45-31               Bobby Wallace         Randy Edsall

2007       Rentschler Field                   L, 22-17                 Al Golden              Randy Edsall

2008       Lincoln Financial Field           L, 12-9 (ot)            Al Golden              Randy Edsall

2010       Lincoln Financial Field          W, 30-16                 Al Golden              Randy Edsall