Big East officially sends Owls to West Division

Boise State head coach Chris Petersen helms a program with strong academic and athletic success. (Joe Jaszweski, Idaho Statesmen/AP)

KENT, OHIO -- The Big East made official what has been known for months: Temple will play in the conference's West Division in the 2013 and 2014 seasons.

The official announcement came on Tuesday.

The Owls will play in the division with Boise State, Houston, Memphis, San Diego State and SMU.  Meanwhile, Central Florida, Cincinnati, Connecticut, Louisville, Rutgers and South Florida will make up the East Division.

The division winners will meet in the new Big East championship at the home of the participating teams.

"That was our agreement going in the first two years and I am good with that," Temple football coach Steve Addazio said. "That was part of the deal and we are going to go in there and will play on that side for two years and that will change. And wherever we head from there, whether we still go East West or they go red blue. I am not involved in those meetings.

"For the first beginning part of this thing we will be on the western side and are am excited to do it. I think it will be good. We will still have some of our regional games here. I think it’s a great new beginning and I am excited for it."

The Big East is breaking into divisions since the league is expanding with Boise State, Houston, Memphis, San Diego, SMU and Central Florida joining next season.