Big East announces Villanova's conference basketball schedule

Villanova will play Pittsburgh, Providence, South Florida and Syracuse twice each during the 2012-13 Big East men's basketball season.

The conference on Thursday announced each team's home and away matchups for the season. With West Virginia having withdrawn from the Big East, each of the 15 teams in the conference will play four opponents twice and 10 opponents once to maintain the 18-game league schedule.

In addition to two matchups each against Pitt, Providence, South Florida and Syracuse, the Wildcats will have home games against Georgetown, Louisville, Marquette, Rutgers and St. John's. Villanova's road opponents will be Cincinnati, Connecticut, DePaul, Notre Dame and Seton Hall.

The conference said that its decisions regarding repeat opponents "are driven by fairness and competitive balance within the parameters of television selections and geographic rivalries."

The full 2012-13 conference schedule will be announced at a later date.

--Joe Juliano