Owls expected to pummel Terps

Temple coach Steve Addazio is saying all the right things about Maryland. And he's doing it with a straight face.

"They will be highly motivated coming in here to play us," he said of the Terps (1-0) wanting to avenge last season's 38-7 defeat. "So I'm expecting a tremendous football game."

Anything is possible.

 Maryland is an Atlantic Coast Conference member, and the Owls are inexperienced.

But like Villanova was last week, I expect the Terps to be a tune-up opponent for a tough Big East slate.  And I'm not a lone.

 Temple (1-0) is favored by 10 1/2 points in Saturday's contest at Lincoln Financial Field.

By now, most folks know that Maryland struggled in last week's 7-6 victory over William & Mary, a Football Championship Subdivision program.

Folks also know the Terps have 27 combined freshmen and sophomores on their two-deep depth chart. They start an inexperienced true freshman quarterback in Perry Hills.

The Pittsburgh native threw three interceptions against the Tribe.

 "I'm quite confident that they are going to have a lot of improvement from Week 1 to Week 2," Addazio said. "Hopefully, we will as well."


Temple all-time vs. Maryland:    1-6

Temple in games at Temple:       0-3

Temple in games at Maryland:   1-3

Temple in games at a neutral site:            0-0

First meeting in series:  1997 at Franklin Field, L, 21-24

Last meeting in series:   2011 at Byrd Stadium, W, 38-7



Temple Owls

                Rushing:               Bernard Pierce, 32-149, 5 TDs (2011)

                Passing:                Devin Scott, 24-34-336 (2000)

                Receiving:            Sean Dillard, 7-121 (2000)


Maryland Terrapins

                Rushing:               LaMont Jordan, 22-138, 2 TDs (1998)

                Passing:               Joel Statham, 18-25-268, 2 TDs (2004)    

                Receiving:              Kerry Boykins, 8-76 (2011)


Year       Site                       Result   Temple Coach   Maryland Coach

1997       Franklin Field     L, 21-24 Ron Dickerson   Ron Vanderlinden

1998       Byrd Stadium     L, 20-30 Bobby Wallace  Ron Vanderlinden

1999       Franklin Field     L, 0-6     Bobby Wallace  Ron Vanderlinden

2000       Byrd Stadium     L, 10-17 Bobby Wallace  Ron Vanderlinden

2004       Byrd Stadium     L, 22-45 Bobby Wallace  Ralph Friedgen

2005       The Linc            L, 7-38   Bobby Wallace  Ralph Friedgen

2011       Byrd Stadium     W, 38-7 Steve Addazio   Randy Edsall