Live updates: Philadelphia Union vs. New York Red Bulls

Time: 1:51 p.m. EDT (approximate)
Venue: PPL Park/Philadelphia, Pa.
TV: NBC starting at 1:30 p.m. EDT (Arlo White, Kyle Martino and Russ Thaler)

When the schedule for this year was published, this matchup seemed an ideal one to place on Major League Soccer's biggest possible stage. But the network television audience that flips over from college football will instead see only one team with something to play for.

The Union's season draws to a close today. It is a merciful ending for those fans who have spent so long being frustrated at their team's inability to build on making the playoffs 12 months ago. New York, meanwhile, is headed to the postseason for third straight year - despite its own healthy share of turmoil on and off the field.

The Red Bulls need a win in order to avoid being stuck in the Wild Card playoff game on Wednesday. A loss today would not only condemn Thierry Henry and company to a short week, but it could also send them to Houston if the Dynamo win tonight.

So there is much to play for on one side of the field. On the other, it is simply about pride, beating a rival, and perhaps making an impression on a coaching staff which has a lot of work to do in the coming offseason.

You will note the absence of Freddy Adu's name in the Union's gameday roster this afternoon. I have been told by multiple sources that even though Adu has a year left on his contract, the Union will not play him on the first team again. My story on that is here.

Follow along below for live game updates, or click here if you're on a mobile device. 

Starting Lineups

Philadelphia Union (4-3-3)

Goalkeeper: Zac MacMath
Defenders: Chris Albright, Carlos Valdés (c), Amobi Okugo, Raymon Gaddis
Midfielders: Brian Carroll, Michael Lahoud, Michael Farfan
Forwards: Keon Daniel, Jack McInerney, Danny Cruz

Bench: GK Chris Konopka; Ms Gabriel Gómez, Jimmy McLaughlin, Zach Pfeffer, Roger Torres; Fs Chandler Hoffman, Antoine Hoppenot

New York Red Bulls (4-1-3-2)

Goalkeeper: Luis Robles
Defenders: Heath Pearce, Rafael Márquez, Markus Holgersson, Connor Lade
Midfielders: Dax McCarty; Teemu Tainio, Tim Cahill, Joel Lindpere
Forwards: Thierry Henry (c), Kenny Cooper

Bench: GK Bill Gaudette; Ds Digão, Stephen Keel, Roy Miller, Tyler Ruthven, Jan Gunnar Solli; F Sébastien Le Toux