National Lacrosse League expands regular season to 18 games

Brodie Merrill (center) and the Philadelphia Wings. (Philadelphia Wings photo)

The National Lacrosse League, in which the Philadelphia Wings play, has decided to increase the number of regular season games from 16 to 18. Here is more from the league's press release:

The National Lacrosse League Board of Governors has voted to increase the length of the regular season from 16 to 18 games for the 2014 NLL season. The decision to expand the regular season stems from findings in a recent survey conducted of NLL fans throughout North America that noted a desire for additional regular season games.

The Philadelphia Wings currently play 16 regular season games and host eight games at Wells Fargo Center from mid-January to late April. The league’s current 16-game regular season schedule format has been in place since the 2002 season. The 2014 regular season schedule is due to be released in September.

“By expanding the season to 18 games, the Board of Governors and the league have taken action to meet the demands of our fans,” said NLL Commissioner George Daniel. “We look forward to providing more of the games that our fans love to watch while creating more opportunities for new fans to come and enjoy the NLL experience and the world’s greatest lacrosse players.”

The National Lacrosse League (NLL) is North America's professional indoor lacrosse league, featuring the best lacrosse players in the world. Founded in 1987, the league opened its 27th season on January 5, 2013. Average game attendance is over 9,500 fans per game. The NLL is comprised of nine franchises in the U.S. & Canada: Buffalo Bandits, Calgary Roughnecks, Colorado Mammoth, Edmonton Rush, Minnesota Swarm, Philadelphia Wings, Rochester Knighthawks, Toronto Rock and Washington Stealth. NLL games are televised on CBS Sports Network and on YouTube. For more information, visit