N.J. voters to pick candidates to succeed Gov. Christie

New Jersey voters on Tuesday will choose the Republican and Democratic candidates to run next fall to succeed Gov. Christie.

In the GOP primary, Lt. Gov. Kim Guadagno and Assemblyman Jack Ciattarelli have been battling over competing tax plans and their closeness — or lack thereof — to the unpopular Christie, whose term ends in January.

Also on the Republican ballot are Linwood engineer Hirsh Singh, Little Egg Harbor businessman Joseph R. Rullo and Nutley commissioner Steven Rogers.

Among the Democrats, former U.S. ambassador to Germany and former Goldman Sachs executive Phil Murphy has brushed off rivals’ accusations he sought to buy the party’s nomination with donations to county party chairs and committees.  His main primary rivals are former U.S. Treasury official Jim Johnson, state Sen. Ray Lesniak, and Assemblyman John Wisniewski.

Also on the Democrat ballot are retired firefighter William Brennan of Wayne and Tenafly Borough Councilman Mark Zinna.

Tuesday’s election will also feature primaries for state Assembly seats and local offices, including mayor in Atlantic City, Camden and Gloucester Township, and Cherry Hill council. Polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Trying to sort out the field? See here to learn how the leading candidates stand on the issues that will face New Jersey’s next governor.​ More information about other races on the ballot and how to find your polling place is here.