Past Marian Anderson Award winners

Named for the legendary Philadelphia-born singer, the current incarnation of the Marian Anderson Award was created in 1998.

The award honors artists who have had a positive impact on society through their leadership on behalf of a humanitarian issue.

Singer, actor and producer Harry Belafonte received the honor in 1998 for his support of the U.S. civil rights movement.

Other past recipients include:

1999 – Gregory Peck

2000 – Elizabeth Taylor

2001 – Quincy Jones

2002 – Danny Glover

2003 – Oprah Winfrey

2005 – Ruby Dee and Ossie Davis

2006 – Sidney Poitier

2007 – Richard Gere

2008 – Maya Angelou and Norman Lear

2010 – Bill Cosby

2011 – Mia Farrow

2012 – James Earl Jones

2013 – Berry Gordy

No awards were given out in 2004 or in 2009.

Contact Alex Wigglesworth at 215-854-2305 or Follow @phila_lex on Twitter.

Contact the Breaking News Desk at 215-854-2443; Follow @phillynews on Twitter.

Continue Reading