Lack of a dog license could mean a fine in Delco
Lack of a dog license could mean fine
MEDIA If your dog doesn't have a 2014 license, you could be risking a $300 fine, Delaware County officials said.
The county is urging residents to get canine companions a current tag. Pennsylvania law requires all dogs three months and older to have a state-issued license.
The fees range from $6 for a pup that has been neutered or spayed to $50 for a lifetime license for a dog that has been microchipped or tattooed. All dogs and house cats must also have a current rabies vaccine.
Most of the county's municipalities will take unlicensed strays to the Chester County SPCA at 1212 Phoenixville Pike, West Chester. Dogs with a tag have a better chance of getting home if they wander.
For more information on where to buy a dog license, contact the Delaware County Treasurer's Office at 610-891-4276 or visit www.co.delaware.pa.us. - Mari A. Schaefer