Tuesday, May 5, 2015

Union Transfer

Union Transfer
Nearby Venues
  • Las Cazuelas
  • Rustica
  • Liberties Restaurant
  • The Latte Lounge
  • The Abbaye
  • Koi Restaurant
  • Delilah's
  • Kind Cafe
  • Cafe Lift
  • Honey's Sit 'n Eat
1026 Spring Garden St. Philadelphia, PA 19123
  • Calendar
    Upcoming events
      San Fermin
    • Thursday, May 7, 2015
    • San Fermin is a 'baroque pop' musical project created by Brooklyn singer/songwriter Ellis Ludwig-Leone. This Brooklyn-based orchestral folk-pop band's music bursts with ambition, extreme joy, great storytelling and rich vocals. Unique arrangements turn their songs into cinematic vignettes using trumpet, sax, keyboard, violin, guitar and drums and the female vocalists are none other than Holly Laessig and Jess Wolfe from Lucius.
      Hop Along
    • Saturday, May 9, 2015
    • Hop Along is an up-and-coming Philadelphia-based trio who released their debut album in 2011.
      Matt Pond PA
    • Thursday, May 14, 2015
    • Formed in 1998, Matt Pond PA's music was featured on the FOX series 'The O.C.' The lineup changed just after the release of the band's debut, 'Deer Apartments.' Singer/songwriter Matt Pond is joined by Dan Crowell, Steve Jewett, Matthew Daniel Siskin and Chris Hansen.
      JJ Grey & MOFRO
    • Friday, May 15, 2015
    • JJ Grey & Mofro's old school R&B and down home Southern roots rock music tells a story. The band also features Andrew Trube, Anthony Farrell, Anthony Cole, Dennis Marion, Art Edmaiston and Todd Smallie. Grey's love of the rustic Florida backwoods where he has spent most of his life is the inspiration for his lyrics. One song was co-written with songwriting icons Chuck Prophet and Angelo Petraglia (Kings of Leon ).
    • Friday, May 22, 2015
    • Geographer is an electro-rock/dream pop trio based out of San Francisco.
    • Friday, May 29, 2015
    • This four-piece Los Angeles band has developed a booze-influenced sound that might be described as "surf punk."
      Purity Ring
    • Saturday, May 30, 2015
    • Purity Ring, the Halifax/Montreal-based future pop duo made up of Corin Roddick and Megan James, is an up-and-coming band whose debut album, 'Shrines,' was just released in late July of 2012. Though the lush, '90s-influenced dream pop sound of their album might seem difficult to replicate live, the two artists have worked tirelessly to create a full experience, taking their live shows near a level of performance art that incapsulates the clothes they wear, designed and handmade by James herself, and the lighting machines utilized, which were built by Roddick.
    • Friday, June 5, 2015
    • Since their formation in October 1976, post-punk English blokes Wire have been staking their claim as a force to be reckoned with in world of rock n' roll. Now in their fourth go-around as a band, current members Colin Newman, Graham Lewis, and Robert Grey have been hard at work. In the last four years, recording an EP (2007's 'Read & Burn: Part 3'), two full-length albums ('Object 47' and 'Red Barked Tree') and played a slew of punk rock shows all around the world. Armed with new material and a tremendous back catalog, Wire is ready to take on the world once again.
    • Saturday, June 6, 2015
    • Calexico is a Mexican-flavored project of Giant Sand/Friends of Dean Martinez members Joey Burns (bass) and John Covertino (drums), who formed the group in 1996 in Tucson, Arizona, where they reside. They are currently touring to support their latest work, 'Algiers,' the band's seventh full-length album, named in tribute to the New Orleans neighborhood in which they recorded the album.
      Modern Life is War
    • Sunday, June 7, 2015
    • Modern Life Is War is a Marshalltown, Iowa-based melodic hardcore punk band. They have gained notoriety of late for their unique take on the melodic hardcore and post-hardcore sound, usually avoiding standard songs structures and abandoning the use of breakdowns almost entirely.
      BC Camplight
    • Tuesday, June 9, 2015
    • BC Camplight makes intelligent music, filled with complicated arrangements and eccentric songwriting, while still retaining humor and modesty.
      Paul Weller
    • Wednesday, June 10, 2015
    • From his formative years as lead singer of The Jam to the pop foundations of the Style Council, Paul Weller has carved his niche as one of Britain's most revered songcrafters. Weller has embraced everything from experimental funk and psychedelic jazz to acoustic folk and pastoral soul rock, with over seven solo efforts since 1991. 2004's 'Studio 150,' was a 12 track collection of covers ranging from 'Close to You' to 'All Along the Watchtower.' 'As Is Now' was his first album of original material since 2002's acclaimed 'Illumination.'
    • Saturday, June 13, 2015
    • Members of this New York-based band hail from Germany, England and the United States. The group consists of Nini Fabi, Ben Gebert, Garrett Ienner, Derek McWilliams and Jonathan Schmidt.
      Best Coast
    • Sunday, June 14, 2015
    • Best Coast, among the most promising new indie acts of 2010, draws its sound from the ‘50s and ‘60s aesthetic of The Beach Boys and The Everly Brothers.
      Courtney Barnett
    • Monday, June 15, 2015 Sold Out
    • Melbourne based singer and guitarist Courtney Barnett released her debut EP 'I've Got A Friend Called Emily Ferris' to glowing reviews around Australia. That quickly snowballed into International critical acclaim in 2013 with her second EP 'How To Carve A Carrot Into A Rose.' In 2014 she performed "Avant Gardener" on The Tonight Show With Jimmy Fallon.
      The Dillinger Escape Plan
    • Wednesday, June 17, 2015
    • The hardcore punk, five-piece band the Dillinger Escape Plan formed in 1997 as an act against typical pop music and with an aim to redefine punk.
    • Friday, June 19, 2015
    • Jungle is a three-piece London band that formed in early 2013.
      Jaga Jazzist
    • Monday, June 22, 2015
    • The nine-member Norwegian jazz band Jaga Jazzist has earned a wealth of praise for being unafraid to travel across many musical boundaries. With an arsenal that includes trumpets, trombone, electric guitar, bass, tuba, two bass clarinets, Fender Rhodes, vibraphone and a rack of electronics, Jaga Jazzist create timeless music that's melodic, hypnotizing, delicate and subtle.
      The Weepies
    • Tuesday, June 23, 2015
    • The Weepies is the musical project centered around award-winning songwriters Steve Tannen and Deb Talan.
      The Adolescents
    • Thursday, June 25, 2015
    • The Adolescents is one of California's legendary hardcore punk bands from the 1980's.
    • Friday, June 26, 2015
    • Rubblebucket is a cutting-edge, eight-piece band led by trumpeter Alex Toth and fronted by the alluring vocals of Kalmia Traver. The band is known for blurring the lines between psychedelic indie rock and upbeat dance and merging them with unexpected, left-field arrangements. They are currently touring in support of their third full-length album, "Survival Sounds."
    • Saturday, June 27, 2015
    • Ceremony is a punk band from Rohnert Park, California, just outside of San Francisco. Their first three albums on the Deathwish and Bridge 9 labels were widely seen as some of the most compelling, unusual and progressive hardcore of the last several years.
      Mike Gordon
    • Sunday, June 28, 2015
    • Bassist Mike Gordon is best known for his work with the band Phish.