Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Inquirer Daily News

Union announce 2011 schedule

Just 33 days before the opening game, Major League Soccer finally unveiled its 2011 fixture list today.

Union announce 2011 schedule

Just 33 days before the opening game, Major League Soccer finally unveiled its 2011 fixture list today.

The announcement was delayed for heaven knows how many reasons. Chief among them have been negotiations for a new TV deal with either Fox Soccer Channel or Versus, and the stadium construction situation in Vancouver.

Fans across the league have spent much of today coming up with their own reasons. Sparked by FoxSoccer.com columnist Ives Galarcep, the Twitter hashtag #MLSScheduleIsLateBecause became a trending topic worldwide in the hours before the schedule was announced. You can get a sampling of the most recent tweets here.

And now, at long last, here is the Philadelphia Union's schedule. Home games are in italics, and TV information is provided where it is known so far. Which games are you most looking forward to?

Saturday, March 19: at Houston Dynamo, 8:30 p.m. 
Saturday, March 26: vs. Vancouver Whitecaps, 4:00 p.m.

Saturday, April 2: at Los Angeles Galaxy, 10:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 9: vs. New York Red Bulls, 7:00 p.m. (ESPN2 and ESPN Deportes)
Saturday, April 16: vs. Seattle Sounders, 4:00 p.m.

Saturday, April 23: at Real Salt Lake, 9:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 30: vs. San Jose Earthquakes, 4:00 p.m.

Saturday, May 7: at Portland Timbers, 10:30 p.m.
Wednesday, May 11: vs. Los Angeles Galaxy, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, May 14: at. FC Dallas, 8:30 p.m.
Saturday, May 21: vs. Chicago, 8:00 p.m. (Galavisión)
Saturday, May 28: at Toronto FC, 7:00 p.m.

Saturday, June 4: at Colorado Rapids, 9:00 p.m.
Saturday, June 11: vs. Real Salt Lake, 4:00 p.m.
Saturday, June 18: at Vancouver Whitecaps, 7:00 p.m.
Wednesday, June 22: vs. Sporting Kansas City, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, June 25: vs. Chivas USA, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, July 2: at D.C. United, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, July 9: at San Jose Earthquakes, 10:30 p.m.
Saturday, July 16: at New England Revolution, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, July 23: at Seattle Sounders, 10:00 p.m.
Wendesday, July 27: MLS All-Star Game at Red Bull Arena, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, July 30: vs. Colorado Rapids, 7:30 p.m. 

Wednesday, August 3: at Chicago Fire, 9:00 p.m.
Saturday, August 6: vs. Houston Dynamo, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, August 13: vs. FC Dallas, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, August 20: at Columbus Crew, 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, August 28: vs. New England Revolution, 7:00 p.m. (Galavisión)

Saturday, September 10: vs. Portland Timbers, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, September 17: vs. Columbus Crew, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, September 24: at Sporting Kansas City, 8:30 p.m.
Thursday, September 29: vs. D.C. United, 8:00 p.m. (ESPN2 and ESPN Deportes)

Sunday, October 2: at Chivas USA, 8:00 p.m.
Sunday, October 15: vs. Toronto FC, 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, October 20: at New York Red Bulls, 8:00 p.m. (ESPN2 and ESPN Deportes)


The national television schedule (so far) is as follows, with home teams listed first. All games on ESPN or ESPN2 also air on ESPN Deportes:

Tuesday, March 15: Seattle Sounders vs. Los Angeles Galaxy, 9:30 p.m. (ESPN)
Sunday, March 20: LA Galaxy vs. New England Revolution, 8:00 p.m. (Galavisión)
Saturday, March 26: Chicago Fire vs. Sporting Kansas City, 4:00 p.m. (TeleFutura)

Sunday, April 3: Colorado Rapids vs. D.C. United, 7:00 p.m. (Galavisión)
Saturday, April 9: Philadelphia Union vs. New York Red Bulls, 7:00 p.m. (ESPN2)
Sunday, April 10: Houston Dynamo vs. Vancouver Whitecaps, 7:00 p.m. (Galavisión)
Thursday, April 14: Portland Timbers vs. Chicago Fire, 11:00 p.m. (ESPN2)
Sunday, April 17: Chicago Fire vs. Los Angeles Galaxy, 4:00 p.m. (TeleFutura)
Thursday, April 21: D.C. United vs. New York Red Bulls, 8:00 p.m. (ESPN2)
Saturday, April 23: San Jose Earthquakes vs. Chivas USA, 4:00 p.m. (TeleFutura)

Sunday, May 1: FC Dallas vs. Los Angeles Galaxy, 7:00 p.m. (Galavisión)
Saturday, May 7: Real Salt Lake vs. Chivas USA, 4:00 pm (TeleFutura)
Saturday, May 7: Los Angeles Galaxy vs. New York Red Bulls, 11:00 p.m. (ESPN2)
Saturday, May 14: Seattle Sounders vs. Portland Timbers, 11:00 p.m. (ESPN2)
Sunday, May 15: New York Red Bulls vs. Chivas USA, 7:00 p.m. (Galavisión)
Saturday, May 21: Philadelphia Union vs. Chicago Fire, 8:00 p.m. (Galavisión)
Saturday, May 21: Chivas USA vs. Los Angeles Galaxy, 10:00 pm (ESPN2)
Saturday, May 28: New England Revolution vs. Los Angeles Galaxy, 8:00 pm (Galavisión)

Saturday, June 4: San Jose Earthquakes vs. Houston Dynamo: 10:30 pm (Galavisión)
Thursday, June 9: Sporting Kansas City vs. Chicago Fire, 10:00 pm (ESPN2)
Saturday, June 11: Portland Timbers vs. Colorado Rapids, 10:30 p.m. (Galavisión)
Sunday, June 19: Portland Timbers vs. New York Red Bulls, 7:00 p.m. (Galavisión)
Thursday, June 23: Seattle Sounders vs. New York Red Bulls, 10:00 p.m. (ESPN2)
Saturday, June 25: D.C. United vs. Houston Dynamo, 8:00 p.m. (Galavisión)
Sunday, June 26: Chicago Fire vs. New York Red Bulls, 2:00 p.m. (ESPN)

Saturday, July 2: Chivas USA vs. Chicago Fire, 10:00 pm (Galavisión)
Saturday, July 2: San Jose Earthquakes vs. New York Red Bulls, 10:30 pm (ESPN2)
Sunday, July 3: Colorado Rapids vs. Houston Dynamo, 9:00 pm (ESPN2)
Monday, July 4: Real Salt Lake vs. New England Revolution, 8:30 pm (ESPN2)
Monday, July 4: Los Angeles Galaxy vs. Seattle Sounders, 10:30 pm (ESPN2)
Saturday, July 9: Sporting Kansas City vs. Chivas USA, 7:30 p.m. (Galavisión)
Sunday, July 10: Portland Timbers vs. Seattle Sounders, 5:00 pm (ESPN)
Saturday, July 16: Chivas USA vs. New York Red Bulls, 10:30 p.m. (Galavisión)
Saturday, July 23: New York Red Bulls vs. FC Dallas, 6:00 p.m. (Galavisión)
Wednesday, July 27: MLS All-Star Game at Red Bull Arena, 8:30 p.m. (Networks TBD)
Sunday, July 31: FC Dallas vs. Chivas USA, 7:00 p.m. (Galavisión)

Sunday, August 7: Vancouver Whitecaps vs. Chicago Fire, 7:00 p.m. (Galavisión)
Sunday, August 14: Houston Dynamo vs. Portland Timbers, 9:00 p.m. (Galavisión)
Thursday August 18: Chicago Fire vs. D.C. United, 9:00 p.m. (ESPN2)
Sunday, August 21: Sporting Kansas City vs. D.C. United, 7:00 p.m. (Galavisión)
Sunday, August 28: Philadelphia Union vs. New England Revolution, 7:00 p.m. (Galavisión)
Sunday, August 28: New York Red Bulls vs. Los Angeles Galaxy, 7:00 p.m. (ESPN2)

Saturday, September 10: Sporting Kansas City vs. Houston Dynamo, 4:00 p.m. (TeleFutura)
Saturday, September 17: Chicago Fire vs. Chivas USA, 4:00 p.m. (TeleFutura)
Saturday, September 24: FC Dallas vs. Houston Dynamo, 4:00 p.m. (TeleFutura)
Thursday, September 29: Philadelphia Union vs. D.C. United, 8:00 p.m. (ESPN2)

Saturday, October 1: Houston Dynamo vs. Chicago, 4:00 p.m. Fire (TeleFutura)
Friday, October 14: Colorado Rapids vs. Real Salt Lake, 10:30 p.m. (ESPN2)
Sunday, October 16: Los Angeles Galaxy vs. Chivas USA, 9:00 p.m. (ESPN)
Saturday, October 15: Sporting Kansas City vs. New York Red Bulls, 4:00 p.m. (TeleFutura)
Thursday, October 20: 8:00 pm New York Red Bulls vs. Philadelphia Union, 8:00 p.m. (ESPN2)
Sunday, October 23: Houston Dynamo vs. Los Angeles Galaxy, 7:00 p.m. (Galavisión)

Jonathan Tannenwald Philly.com
About this blog
The Goalkeeper is your home for the latest news about the Philadelphia Union, Major League Soccer, U.S. national teams and the rest of the world's most popular sport. It's also a place for fans to gather and celebrate the culture of soccer and its unique place on the sports landscape.

Reach Jonathan at jtannenwald@phillynews.com or 215-854-2330.

Jonathan Tannenwald Philly.com
Latest Videos:
Also on Philly.com:
Stay Connected