Thursday, July 30, 2015

MLS unveils 2011 playoff structure

Ten of the league's 18 teams will qualify for the postseason.

MLS unveils 2011 playoff structure


Major League Soccer announced the structure for the 2011 playoffs today. Ten of the league's 19 teams will qualify. The playoff bracket will work as follows:

- Automatic berths will go to the top three finishers in each conference (six teams total), based on regular season points

- The next best four clubs based on regular season points, irrespective of conference, will get wild cards.

- The four wild cards will play single elimination games against each other, with higher seeds hosting. The top-ranked wildcard will play No. 4 and No. 2 will play No. 3. After those matches, there will be a total of eight teams remaining.

- The lowest remaining wild card seed will face the Supporters’ Shield winner in what the league still refers to as the Conference Semifinals. The other remaining wild card will face the No. 1 seed in the opposite conference from the Supporters’ Shield winner.

- The Conference Semifinal matches will be two-game aggregate series. The league's press release makes no mention of whether away goals will count, so I will asume based on past years' playoffs that they will not.

- The Conference Championship matches will be single games hosted by the high seed on each side of the bracket.

- The MLS Cup Final will be a single game, and will again be held at a neutral site. That is newsworhty, as there were rumors over the winter that this year's final might be held at the highest remaining seed.

What do you think of the format? I think it gives the Union a very good chance to make the playoffs. But you can also argue that having so many teams qualify cheapens the value of the postseason.
We encourage respectful comments but reserve the right to delete anything that doesn't contribute to an engaging dialogue.
Help us moderate this thread by flagging comments that violate our guidelines.

Comment policy: comments are intended to be civil, friendly conversations. Please treat other participants with respect and in a way that you would want to be treated. You are responsible for what you say. And please, stay on topic. If you see an objectionable post, please report it to us using the "Report Abuse" option.

Please note that comments are monitored by staff. We reserve the right at all times to remove any information or materials that are unlawful, threatening, abusive, libelous, defamatory, obscene, vulgar, pornographic, profane, indecent or otherwise objectionable. Personal attacks, especially on other participants, are not permitted. We reserve the right to permanently block any user who violates these terms and conditions.

Additionally comments that are long, have multiple paragraph breaks, include code, or include hyperlinks may not be posted.

Read 0 comments
comments powered by Disqus
About this blog
The Goalkeeper is your home for the latest news about the Philadelphia Union, Major League Soccer, the National Women's Soccer League, the U.S. men's and women's national teams, and the rest of the world's most popular sport. It's also a place for fans to gather and celebrate the culture of soccer and its unique place on the sports landscape.

Jonathan Tannenwald
Lauren Green Inquirer Staff Writer
Latest Videos:
Also on
letter icon Newsletter