Rocky Awards Announced

Winners have been announced in the annual "Rocky" awards, given by Live Arts Festival/Philly Fringe with support from Dance/USA Philadelphia.

The Rocky awards are a little unusual in that there are no categories, committees or ballots. Each recipient simply selects a winner the following year. A little clubby, if you ask me. The awards "celebrate outstanding achievement in a production, a performance, a set design, or other accomplishment in Greater Philadelphia's dance and physical theater community."


Here they are:

Nichole Canuso for Wandering Alice. Awarded by Matthew Neenan.
Makoto Hirano (pictured) for his performance in Wandering Alice and his new Solo Work. Awarded by Karl Schappell.
Bethany Formica for Factor T. Awarded by Marianela Boan.
Jaime Merwin /olive Dance Theater for Their Home Season at the Wilma. Awarded by Merian Soto.
Robert Burden for his work with Chocolate Wireworks and Tap Team 2 & Company. Awarded by Jaye Allison.
Mark Caserta for his performance in Eleone Dance Theater's Ovations. Awarded by Tracy Vogt, presented by Shawn-Lamere Williams.
Melanie Stewart for nEW Festival. Awarded by hosts Jaamil Kosoko and Megan Mazarick.