Richard Tucker Award goes to AVA grad - again

Soprano Ailyn Pérez, a 2006 graduate of the Academy of Vocal Arts, is recipient of the 2012 Richard Tucker Award - the fourth AVA grad to win the award in as many years (after Angela Meade in 2011, tenor James Valenti in 2010 and tenor Stephen Costello - Pérez’ husband - in 2009).

The award, which comes with a $30,000 prize, is given annually "to an American singer poised on the edge of a major national and international career." Past winners include Renée Fleming, Deborah Voigt, Stephanie Blythe and Matthew Polenzani.

Two current AVA atudents, bass-baritone Scott Conner and mezzo-soprano Margaret Mezzacappa, were awarded 2012 $5,000 Sara Tucker Study Grants.