Four Goals Each Four Goals Each By Sarcinello And Brostrand Powers La Salle Lacrosse Past Villanova, 13-9

VILLANOVA, Pa. – Powered by four goals apiece from sophomore Melanie Sarcinello and freshman Caitlyn Brostrand, the La Salle lacrosse team defeated Villanova, 13-9, on Wednesday evening at Villanova Stadium.

La Salle improves to 6-2 on the season, while the Wildcats fall to 1-5.

Senior Megan Corliss made six saves in goal.

Junior Lauren McDermott had four points on the evening for the Explorers with a hat trick and an assist.  Senior Nora McGurkin controlled four draws and also added two assists.

The Explorers once again got out to a good start as they have done in their past several contests.

Nearly three minutes into the game, Brostrand added her first tally of the night, an unassisted goal.  McDermott her first goal on the evening off a feed from McGurkin and then Sarcinello and junior Jackie Roebuck scored to make it 4-0 in favor of the Explorers with 17:41 remaining in the first.

Villanova added two goals in the next three and a half minutes to cut La Salle's lead to 4-2.

The scoring stalled for both teams for the next ten minutes before Sarcinello added a goal off a pass from junior Taylor Ruland from behind the cage at the 5:47 mark.  Freshman Maggie O'Ferrall took a McGurkin feed to the net to give the Explorers a 6-2 lead at the break.

Sarcinello and Brostrand each added a pair of goals after the half to give La Salle its largest lead of the game at 10-2 with 20:30 left to play.

The Wildcat's Justine Donodeo, who added five goals in the game, scored twice to make the score 10-4 in favor of the Explorers with 17:58 on the clock.

Brostrand and McDermott added goals for La Salle to keep the Explorers with a 12-4 lead by the 11:39 mark.

The Wildcats would close out the final ten minutes of the contest on a 6-1 run, but the Blue and Gold hung on for the win 13-9.

The series between the two schools is now even at 7-all.

La Salle will play its final non-conference game against San Diego State at McCarthy Stadium on Sunday at 1:00 p.m.

Continue Reading