Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Cunningham makes Eagles' Mount Rushmore

Quarterback Randall Cunningham held off a late sprint by Hall of Fame running back Steve Van Buren to snag the fourth spot on the Eagles' Mount Rushmore, as voted by fans at

Cunningham makes Eagles' Mount Rushmore


Quarterback Randall Cunningham held off a late sprint by Hall of Fame running back Steve Van Buren to snag the fourth spot on the Eagles' Mount Rushmore, as voted by fans at

The rest of the Final Four turned out to be defensive end Reggie White, linebacker/center Chuck Bednarik -- two Hall of Famers -- and safety Brian Dawkins.

Those three were runaway choices, with White checked off by 84 percent of voters in the online polll, Dawkins by 64 percent, and Bednarik by 60 percent.

The vote for the last spot was so close that Cunningham, Van Buren, and quarterback Norm Van Brocklin -- who led the Eagles to their last championship, in 1960 -- all had 32 percent. Trailing were quarterback Donovan McNabb with 28 percent, coach Andy Reid with 20 percent, and running back Brian Westbrook and receivers Harold Carmichael at 16 percent. The options also included defensive tackle Jerome Brown and defensive back Tom Brookshier.

More coverage
VOTE: Should Bradford start vs. Lions?
Download FREE Philly Sports Now app for iPhone!
FORUMS: Will the Eagles make the playoffs?
Latest NFL odds
SHOP: Eagles Training Camp sportswear

Profootballtalk's Mike Florio said his four would have been Reid, White, Bednarik and Van Buren.

Ray Didinger, co-author of the Eagles Encyclopedia, agreed with the fans' first three, but felt that the fourth spots should have gone to Van Buren, who retired as the NFL's all-time leading rusher and who led the Eagles to championships in 1948 and 1949.

Didinger's remarks were made Tuesday to 94 WIP's Angelo Cataldi, who lobbied hard for fans to vote for anybody but McNabb.

We encourage respectful comments but reserve the right to delete anything that doesn't contribute to an engaging dialogue.
Help us moderate this thread by flagging comments that violate our guidelines.

Comment policy: comments are intended to be civil, friendly conversations. Please treat other participants with respect and in a way that you would want to be treated. You are responsible for what you say. And please, stay on topic. If you see an objectionable post, please report it to us using the "Report Abuse" option.

Please note that comments are monitored by staff. We reserve the right at all times to remove any information or materials that are unlawful, threatening, abusive, libelous, defamatory, obscene, vulgar, pornographic, profane, indecent or otherwise objectionable. Personal attacks, especially on other participants, are not permitted. We reserve the right to permanently block any user who violates these terms and conditions.

Additionally comments that are long, have multiple paragraph breaks, include code, or include hyperlinks may not be posted.

Read 0 comments
comments powered by Disqus
About this blog
Pattison Ave. offers an eclectic mix of news and nuggets about Philadelphia sports and beyond. Live chats, analysis, random thoughts, viral videos, odds and ends -- you'll find it all here.

Jonathan Tannenwald Sports Producer
Jerry Gaul Sports Producer
Vaughn Johnson Sports Producer
Justin Klugh Sports Producer
Rob Tornoe Sports Cartoonist
Latest Videos:
Also on
letter icon Newsletter