Another SRC member resigns

Denise McGregor Armbrister has resigned from the Philadelphia School Reform Commission, according to a Wednesday news release from the Pennsylvania Department of Education. 

Armbrister submitted her resignation to Gov. Corbett today.  Her term was due to expire next year.

“I want to thank Denise for serving the students and parents of the Philadelphia School District during the past several years,” Secretary of Education Ronald Tomalis said in the release.  “While I have not had the opportunity to work with her for a long period of time, it was clear to me that she had the interest of the students as a first priority. Denise is a dedicated professional who worked with her SRC colleagues during difficult and challenging times for the district. I wish her the best and appreciate her service to Philadelphia.”

Armbrister, a public school parent, is executive director of the Wells Fargo Regional Foundation and has spent most of her professional life in the financial industry. 

Her resignation caps a tumultous period for the SRC, which lost two members in September with the resignations of former chair Robert L. Archie Jr. and Johnny Irizarry.  Archie and Irizarry, mayoral appointees, have been replaced by Wendell Pritchett and Lorene Cary.

The SRC's fifth seat has been empty since David Girard-diCarlo resigned early this year.  Pedro Ramos, a former school board president, has been nominated by Corbett but must still be confirmed by the Senate.  If confirmed, Ramos will become SRC chair.