Boys' Hoops: Vaux's Jordan is Phoenix Award winner

Robert Vaux senior guard Rysheed Jordan is the recipient of the 2013 Phoenix Award.

The Phoenix Club of Philadelphia was established in 2008 by Michael G. Horsey, a local certified public accountant, to recognize the “Most Outstanding” senior male basketball player in the Public League.

Blog Image 924249 - O'Brien
Roberts Vaux's Rysheed Jordan, The Inquirer's Southeastern Pennsylania boys' basketball player of the year, averaged 24.8 points per game. (Lou Rabito/Inquirer Staff)

Last year’s award recipient was Maurice Watson (Boys’ Latin), who is now playing at Boston University.

The Phoenix Award presentation will take place in June at the Union League of Philadelphia.

Here are the past Phoenix Award honorees:

2012: Maurice Watson, Boys’ Latin Charter

2011: Jerrell Wright, Murrell Dobbins

2010: Tyrone Garland, Bartram

2009: Sam Prescott, Imhotep Charter

2008: Andrew “Scootie” Randall, Communications Tech