FOOTBALL: Catholic League to go with two divisions in 2012

Catholic League athletic directors passed a proposal Thursday night to go with two football divisions in 2012: a five-team Class AAAA division and six-team Class AAA/AA division.

In the five-team Class AAAA division: Archbishop Ryan, Father Judge, La Salle, St. Joseph's Prep, and Roman Catholic.
In the six-team Class AAA/AA division: Archbishop Carroll, Archbishop Wood, Bishop McDevitt, Cardinal O'Hara, Neumann-Goretti, and Lansdale Catholic.
It was announced last week that Conwell-Egan, Monsignor Bonner, and West Catholic will close in June. That trimmed the number of Catholic League teams from 14 to 11.
-Rick O'Brien

Continue Reading