FC Towamencin wins U17 Presidents Cup

FC Towamencin won the U17 Presidents Cup at the U.S. Youth Soccer Association championships Sunday in Des Moines, Iowa. Towamencin beat PQ Premiere of San Diego, 2-1, in the finals.

Towamencin, sponsored by the Towamencin Youth Association based in Kulpsville, beat teams from Arkansas and Indiana in addition to PQ Premiere, to win its first national title.

Towamencin’s only blemish was a 1-1 tie with PQ Premiere in an early round. That goal was the only one given up by the new champs. Towamencin was leading 1-0 when the San Diego team scored in the 93rd minute.

Brian Zolot and Jacob Barlow scored the Towamencin goals in the championship game. Mark Meoli was in goal for all of Towamencin’s games.