Bill Iezzi: New Jersey Group Changes

The NJSIAA has released the 2010-11 General Group Classifications for public schools. The sports affected are baseball and softball as well as boys' and girls' basketball and soccer.

The Non-Public classifications as well as those for for football and wrestling are to come. Here are some noteworthy changes.

Kingsway and Cherry Hill West have flip-flopped between South Jersey Groups 3 and 4. The Dragons, who were in Group 3 last season, experienced a school-population surge to 1,091 students and moved to the big-schools group. Meanwhile, West shrank to 1,078 students and shifted to Group 3.

Audubon has moved from South Jersey Group 2 to Group 1, where Burlington City resided until it was moved to Central Jersey Group 1 for the upcoming season.

Camden has moved from South Jersey Group 2 to 3 and Glassboro has been shifted from Group 2 to Group 1.

Delran was in Central 2 last season but now the Bears are in South 2.

The classifications follow:

South Group 4 - Absegami, Atlantic City, Cherokee, Cherry Hill East, Clearview, Eastern, Egg Harbor Township, Kingsway, Lenape, Mainland, Millville, Oakcrest, Shawnee, Southern Regional, Toms River East, Toms River South, Triton, Vineland, Washington Township, Williamstown, Winslow Township.

South Group 3 - Burlington County Institute of Technology-Westampton, Burlington Township, Camden, Camden County Vocational Technical-Sicklerville, Central Regional, Cherry Hill West, Cumberland, Delsea, Deptford, Gloucester County Tech, Hammonton, Highland Regional, Lacey, Manchester Township, Moorestown, Ocean City, Pemberton, Pinelands, Seneca Timber Creek, Woodrow Wilson.

South Group 2 - Barnegat, Bridgeton, Buena, Burlington County Institute of Technology, Medford, Camden County Vocational Technical-Pennsauken, Cinnaminson, Collingswood, Delran, Haddon Heights, Haddon Township, Haddonfield, Lakewood, Lower Cape May, Middle Township, Overbrook, Pleasantville, Point Pleasant Borough, Sterling, West Deptford, Willingboro, Woodstown.

South Group 1 - Audubon, Camden Academy Charter, Cape May County Vocational Technical, Cedar Creek, Clayton, Gateway, Glassboro, Gloucester City, LEAP Academy, Lindenwold, Maple Shade, Palmyra, Paulsboro, Penns Grove, Pennsville, Pitman, Salem, Salem County Vocational Tehnical, Schalick, Wildwood, Woodbury.

Central Group 4 - Brick Memorial, East Brunswick, Freehold Township, Hamilton East, Howell, Jackson Memorial, Manalpan, Marlboro, Middletown North, Monroe, Montgomery, North Brunswick, Old Bridge, Pennsauken, RFancocas Valley, Sayerville, South Brunswick, Toms River North, Trenton, West Windsor-Plainsboro North, West Windsor-Plainsboro South.

Central Group 3 - Allentown, Brick Township, Colts Neck, Freehold Borough, Hamilton North, Hamilton West, Hightstown, Holmdel, Hopewell Valley, Jackson Liberty, Lawrence, Matawan, Middletown South, Monmouth Regional, Neptune, New Brunswick, Northern Burlington, Ocean Township, Princeton, Red Bank Regional, Wall.

Central Group 2 - Bordentown, Carteret, Clark, Delaware Valley, Ewing, Governor Livingston, Hillside, Arthur L. Johnson, Long Branch, Manasquan, Middlesex, North Plainfield, Raritan, Robbinsville, Rumson-Fair Haven, Shabazz, Shore Regional, Snyder, Spotswood, Summit, Voorhees.

Central Group 1 - Academy Charter, Asbury Park, Bound Brook, Burlington City, Dunellen, Florence, Highland Park, Henry Hudson, Keansburg, Keyport, Manville, Metuchen, Middlesex County Academy, Middlesex County Vocational Technical-East Brunswick, MCVT- Perth Amboy, MCVT- Piscataway, MCVT- Woodbridge, New Egypt, Point Pleasant Beach, Riverside, Somerset County VT, South Amboy, South Hunterdon, South River.