LaSalle wrestlers beat Washington for Dist. 12 title

By Pat Leonard

For the Inquirer


LaSalle senior C.J. Burns and sophomore Brian Pflanz pinned their George Washington opponents in less than one minute on their home mat in Flourtown Tuesday as the Explorers won, 60-10, and captured their second District 12 wrestling championship in as many years as members of the Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association (PIAA).

The match originally was scheduled to be held at Methacton High School, but tonight’s impending snowstorm forced Methacton officials to close school facilities for extracurricular activities.

LaSalle, which became the District 12 top seed with its win over the Public League champion Eagles, moved on Tuesday to face Council Rock South, the District 1 second seed, in the first round of the state tournament.

The winner will travel to the Giant Center in Hershey on Friday for the quarterfinals of the PIAA team championships.


The Results

145: Jack Carmody, L, win by forfeit; 152: Shane Springer, L, pin Daniel Kasmiarv, 2:30; 160: Nick Burns, L, dec. Jamie Marrero, 7-2; 171: C.J. Burns, L, pin Vitaliy Borisov, :43; 189: P.J. Steinmetz, L, major dec. Gevork Dramgotchian, 10-0; 215: Nariman Lomidze, GW, pin Kieran Trainer, 1:02; Hwt: Daniel Ezzo, pin Sergey Neroda, 1:17; 103: Luis Colon, GW, major dec. Tim Walker, L, 14-5; 112: Bryan Pflanz, L, pin Darrell Bailey, :32 (37-10); 119: Roger Woehrle, L, dec. Giuseppe Marrero, 9-7; 125: Casey Kent, L, pin Jean Arroligo, 2:58; 130: Nick Mathis, L, dec. Albert Hellmig, 17-10; 135: Matt Cimato, L, tech. fall Kleisley Sime, 15-0; 140: Joe Mazzi, L, win by forfeit.