Blog Image 396114 - Narducci
St. Augustine QB Dustin Thomas (7) threw two first-half TD passes


FINAL: St. Augustine 28, Holy Spirit 21


The winner claims the Cape Atlantic League National Conference title


Holy Spirit cut St. Augustine’s lead to 28-21 on a 1-yard run by Nigel Jones that was set up by a 36-yard completion from Joe Callahan to Dan McNair with 39 seconds left in the third quarter.


Dustin Thomas threw his fourth TD pass, a 13-yarder to James Goodroe, to increase St. Augustine’s lead to 28-14 over Holy Spirit with 3:45 left in the third quarter


St. Augustine scored on its first possession of the second half, a 5-play, 63-yard drive, culminating with a 39-yard TD pass from Thomas to Stephen Dombrowski with 9:53 left in the third quarter. Thomas hit Dombrowski in stride for his third TD pass of the evening.


St. Augustine tied the score at 14-14 on Ed Charlton’s 8yard TD reception from Thomas. The score was set up on a 30-yard completion by the same duo.


Holy Spirit took a 14-7 lead on Callahan’s 29-yard touchdown pass to Troy Beck. Callahan hit him in stride


Holy Spirit tied the score on Nigel Jones’ 3-yard run with 3:47 left in the first quarter. The big play was a 22-yard completion to the 3-yard line from Joe Callahan to McNair.


St. Augustine took a 7-0 lead on a 22-yard touchdown pass from Thomas to Gabe Voumard with 5:35 left in the first quarter


St. Augustine fumbled on the Holy Spirit 1-yard line

Earlier, Spirit fumbled on its second offensive play, giving St. Augustine the ball on its own 46.


St. Augustine 7 7 14 0 - 28

Holy Spirit     7 7 7 0 - 21

S: Gabe Voumard 22 pass from Dustin Thomas (Chris Gough kick)

H: Nigel Jones 3 run (Tommy Worthington kick)

H: Troy Beck 29 pass from Joe Callahan (Worthington kick)

S: Ed Charlton 8 pass from Thomas (Gough kick)

S: Stephen Dombrowski 39 pass from Thomas (Gough kick)

S: James Goodroe 13 pass from Thomas (Gough kick)

H: Jones 1 run (Worthington kick)