Game times for first two rounds announced

The press release with tip times and announcer crews for the first two rounds just came into my inbox from CBS. It is posted in full below.

Of note, the announcing crew in Philadelphia will be Dick Enberg and Carter Blackburn splitting play-by-play duties, with Jay Bilas as the color analyst. It should be interesting to hear what Bilas has to say about American and Virginia Commonwealth.

Other crews:

Greensboro, N.C.: Jim Nantz and Clark Kellog
Kansas City, Mo.: Tim Brando and Mike Gminski
Portland, Ore.: Kevin Harlan and Dan Bonner
Miami, Fla.: Ian Eagle and Jim Spanarkel
Dayton, Ohio: Verne Lundquist and Bill Raftery
Minneapolis, Minn.: Gus Johnson and Len Elmore
Boise, Idaho: Craig Bolerjack and Bob Wenzel

It's disappointing that Lundquist and Raftery will not be in Philadelphia, or in Miami to call the Temple game. Eagle and Spanarkel draw that assignment. But Dayton has two No.1 seeds, so that's a big-time venue and that's where Lundquist and Raftery will be.

Not much surprising in the other assignments, though you have to wonder what Gus Johnson will be like if North Dakota State upsets Kansas in Minneapolis.

So here's the full schedule for the first two rounds.

Games with no listed start times are the second halves of doubleheaders; they usually begin 25 minutes or so after the first game ends. Games in Philadelphia and Temple's games are in italics.

We will find out tomorrow which games KYW will air.


First afternoon block

Greensboro I: 8. Butler vs. 9. Louisiana State, 12:20 p.m. (Jim Nantz, Clark Kellog) (South)
Kansas City I: 2. Memphis vs. 15. Cal State-Northridge, 12:25 p.m. (Tim Brando, Mike Gminski) (West)
Philadelphia I: 8. BYU vs. 9. Texas A&M, 12:30 p.m. (Dick Enberg/Carter Blackburn/Jay Bilas) (West)

Second afternoon block

Portland I: 5. Purdue vs. 12. Northern Iowa, 2:30 p.m. (West)
Greensboro II: 1. North Carolina vs. 16. Radford (South)
Kansas City II: 7. California vs. 10. Maryland (West)
Philadelphia II: 1. Connecticut vs. 16. Chattanooga (West)

Middle block

Portland II: 4. Washington vs. 13. Mississippi State (West)

This game will probably start a bit before 5 p.m., and my guess is it will be the game that airs nationally on CBS College Sports instead of CBS over-the-air. It will only be on network TV in the local markets.

You might recall that Cornell-Stanford was in this slot last year as the second afternoon game in Anaheim, and was broadcast on CBS College Sports as well.

First evening block

Greensboro III: 7. Texas vs. 10. Minnesota, 7:10 p.m. (East)
Kansas City III: 7. Clemson vs. 10. Michigan 7:10 p.m. (South)
Philadelphia III: 3. Villanova vs. 14. American 7:20 p.m. (East)
Portland III: 4. Gonzaga vs. 13. Akron 7:25 p.m. (South)

Second evening block

Greensboro IV: 2. Duke vs. 15. Binghamton (East)
Kansas City IV: 2. Oklahoma vs. 15. Morgan State (South)
Philadelphia IV: 6. UCLA vs. 11. VCU (East)
Portland IV: 5. Illinois vs. 12. Western Kentucky (South)


First afternoon block

Miami I: 3. Syracuse vs. 14. Stephen F. Austin, 12:15 p.m. (South)
Dayton I: 8. Oklahoma State vs. 9. Tennessee, 12:25 p.m (East)
Minneapolis I: 3. Kansas vs. 14. North Dakota State, 12:30 p.m. (Midwest)
Boise I: 6. Marquette vs. 11. Utah State, 12:30 p.m. (West)

Second afternoon block

Miami II: 6. Arizona State vs. 11. Temple (South)
Dayton II: 1. Pittsburgh vs. 16. East Tennessee State (East)
Minneapolis II: 6. West Virginia vs. 11. Dayton (Midwest)
Boise II: 3. Missouri vs. 14. Cornell (West)

First evening block

Miami III: 5. Utah vs. 12. Arizona, 7:10 p.m. (Midwest)
Dayton III: 1. Louisville vs. 16. Alabama State or Morehead State, 7:10 p.m. (Midwest)
Minneapolis III: 7. Boston College vs. 10 Southern California, 7:20 p.m. (Midwest)
Boise III: 4. Xavier vs. 13. Portland State, 7:25 p.m. (East)

Second evening block

Miami IV: 4. Wake Forest vs. 13. Cleveland State (Midwest)
Dayton IV: 8. Ohio State vs. 9. Siena (Midwest)
Minneapolis IV: 2. Michigan State vs. 15. Robert Morris (Midwest)
Boise IV: 5. Florida State vs. 12. Wisconsin (East)


First block

Philadelphia I: 3. Villanova or 14. American vs. 6. UCLA or 11. Virginia Commonwealth, 1:05 p.m. (East)

Second block

Kansas City I: 2. Memphis or 15. Cal State-Northridge vs. 7. California or 10. Maryland, 3:20 p.m. (West)
Philadelphia II: 1. Connecticut or 16. Chattanooga vs. 8. BYU or 9. Texas A&M (West)

Third block

Portland I: 4. Washington or 13. Mississippi State vs. 5. Purdue or 12. Northern Iowa (West)
Greensboro I: 1. North Carolina or 16. Radford vs. 8. Louisiana State or 9. Butler (South)
Kansas City II: 2. Oklahoma or 15. Morgan State vs. 7 Clemson or 10. Michigan (South)

Fourth block

Portland II: 4. Gonzaga or 13. Akron vs. 5. Illinois or 12. Western Kentucky (South)
Greensboro II: 2. Duke or 15. Binghamton vs. 7. Texas or 10. Minnesota (East)


First block

Miami I: 3. Syracuse or 14. Stephen F. Austin vs. 6. Arizona State or 11. Temple, 12:10 p.m. (South)

Second block

Boise I: Xavier or 13. Portland State vs. 5. Florida State or 12. Wisconsin, 2:30 p.m. (East)
Minneapolis I: 3. Kansas or 14. North Dakota State vs. 6. West Virginia or 11. Dayton, 2:30 p.m. (Midwest)
Miami II: 4. Wake Forest or 13. Cleveland State vs. 5. Utah or 12. Arizona (Midwest)
Dayton I: 1. Pittsburgh or 16. East Tennessee State vs. 8. Oklahoma State or 9. Tennessee, 2:50 p.m. (East)

Third block

Boise II: 3. Missouri or 14. Cornell vs. 6. Marquette or 11. Utah State (West)
Minneapolis II: 2. Michigan State or 15. Robert Morris vs. 7. Boston College or 10. USC (Midwest)
Dayton II: 8. Ohio State or 9. Siena vs. 1. Louisville or 16. Alabama State or Morehead State (Midwest)

The pairings for the first round of the inaugural tournament have been released. No local teams are in the field, but the CAA is represented by James Madison and Old Dominion. Click here for the full field.

Nor are there any local teams in the CBI. Teams in local conferences include Northeastern, which will host Wyoming, as well as Richmond and St. John's, who will play each other in Queens. The bracket is here.