Villanova in Puerto Rico tourney next season

Villanova is among the eight-team field for the third annual O’Reilly Auto Parts Puerto Rico Tip-Off, tournament organizers announced today.

The event is Nov. 19 to 22 at the Coliseo de Puerto Rico, in San Juan.

Joining the Final Four-bound Wildcats are UAB, Dayton, George Mason, Georgia Tech, Indiana and Kansas State. The eighth team will be announced at a later date.

The tournament will feature 12 games in three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off for the championship on Sunday, Nov. 22.

Five of the seven teams announced reached the postseason this year. Villanova and Dayton played in the 2009 NCAA Tournament, with the Flyers advancing to the second round. The Wildcats, a No. 3 seed, will face No. 1 seed North Carolina in the Final Four on Saturday. UAB, George Mason and Kansas State played in the National Invitation Tournament.