Sunday, February 7, 2016

'Nova, Owls, Hawks in 2011 tourneys

Villanova is among eight teams in the field for the 76 Classic to be held over Thanksgiving weeked in 2011, ESPN announced.

'Nova, Owls, Hawks in 2011 tourneys


Villanova is among eight teams in the field for the 76 Classic to be held over Thanksgiving weeked in 2011, ESPN announced.



The tournament is Thursday, Friday and Sunday, Nov. 24, 25 and 27 at the Anaheim (Calif.) Convention Center adjacent to Disneyland.

More coverage
Get the latest local sports news with the Philly Sports Now app
Latest college football rankings
Latest college sports videos
SHOP: Collegiate Sportswear & Merchandise

The event features 12 games over three days. Each team will play one game per day, advancing through a bracket format, with the two teams that remain unbeaten through the first two games playing in the title game on Sunday.

Seven teams are confirmed thus far:  Boston College, Oklahoma, New Mexico, Saint Louis, Santa Clara, Washington State and Villanova. The eighth team is to be announced.

West Virginia won the 76 Classic last season, part of the Mountaineers’ run to the NCAA Final Four. Wake Forest was crowned the 2008 champion of the 76 Classic.


Temple will play in the 2011 Honda Puerto Rico Tip-Off  next November, ESPN announced

Temple is one of eight teams that will play Nov. 17, 18 & 20, 2011 in San Juan. The other teams invited are: Alabama, Colorado, Iona, Maryland, Wichita State and Purdue. The final team will be announced at a later date.



Saint Joseph's will play in the 2011 Charleston (S.C.) Classic next November, ESPN announced. The games will be played Nov. 17, 18 & 20.

The Hawks are part of an eight-team field that includes Baylor, Georgia Tech, LSU, Seton Hall, Tulsa, Virginia Commonwealth and Western Kentucky.


We encourage respectful comments but reserve the right to delete anything that doesn't contribute to an engaging dialogue.
Help us moderate this thread by flagging comments that violate our guidelines.

Comment policy: comments are intended to be civil, friendly conversations. Please treat other participants with respect and in a way that you would want to be treated. You are responsible for what you say. And please, stay on topic. If you see an objectionable post, please report it to us using the "Report Abuse" option.

Please note that comments are monitored by staff. We reserve the right at all times to remove any information or materials that are unlawful, threatening, abusive, libelous, defamatory, obscene, vulgar, pornographic, profane, indecent or otherwise objectionable. Personal attacks, especially on other participants, are not permitted. We reserve the right to permanently block any user who violates these terms and conditions.

Additionally comments that are long, have multiple paragraph breaks, include code, or include hyperlinks may not be posted.

Read 0 comments
comments powered by Disqus
About this blog

Philly is a hoops town and provides complete coverage of the Big 5 and Drexel with news and commentary from the people inside the game and those who cover it. Look for regular contributions from the Daily News team of college hoops reporters and from many of Philly’s coaches.

Written by the Big Five coaches
Latest Videos:
Also on
letter icon Newsletter