Sunday, August 2, 2015

Penn's Rosen named Big 5 player of year

Penn senior guard Zack Rosen was named Big 5 player of the year and scholar-athlete of the year.

Penn's Rosen named Big 5 player of year


Penn senior guard Zack Rosen was named Big 5 player of the year and scholar-athlete of the year.

La Salle’s Earl Pettis was most improved player and Jerrell Wright was rookie of the year. Temple’s Fran Dunphy was picked coach of the year and his Owls were named team of the year.

Joining Rosen on the All-Big 5 first team are: Ramone Moore (Temple), Maalik Wayns (Villanova), Khalif Wyatt (Temple) and Langston Galloway (Saint Joseph’s).

On the second team are: La Salle’s Tyreek Duren, Pettis and Ramon Galloway, Saint Joseph’s Carl Jones and C.J. Aiken and Temple’s Juan Fernandez.

More coverage
Latest college sports videos
Buy college apparel and college gear

Temple’s Shea Peddy was selected women’s player of the year for the second consecutive year. Villanova’s Harry Perretta was named coach of the year. Temple’s Victoria Macaulay was named most improved and Penn’s Kara Bonenberger was rookie of year and Jess Knapp received the sportsmanship award.

Joining Peddy on the first team are: Alyssa Baron (Penn), Laura Sweeney (Villanova), Brittany Wilson (La Salle) and Michelle Baker (Saint Joseph’s). On the second team are: Macauley, Kristen McCarthy (Temple), Alexis Scott (La Salle), Lauren Burford (Villanova) and Kelly Cavallo (Saint Joseph’s).

We encourage respectful comments but reserve the right to delete anything that doesn't contribute to an engaging dialogue.
Help us moderate this thread by flagging comments that violate our guidelines.

Comment policy: comments are intended to be civil, friendly conversations. Please treat other participants with respect and in a way that you would want to be treated. You are responsible for what you say. And please, stay on topic. If you see an objectionable post, please report it to us using the "Report Abuse" option.

Please note that comments are monitored by staff. We reserve the right at all times to remove any information or materials that are unlawful, threatening, abusive, libelous, defamatory, obscene, vulgar, pornographic, profane, indecent or otherwise objectionable. Personal attacks, especially on other participants, are not permitted. We reserve the right to permanently block any user who violates these terms and conditions.

Additionally comments that are long, have multiple paragraph breaks, include code, or include hyperlinks may not be posted.

Read 0 comments
comments powered by Disqus
About this blog

Philly is a hoops town and provides complete coverage of the Big 5 and Drexel with news and commentary from the people inside the game and those who cover it. Look for regular contributions from the Daily News team of college hoops reporters and from many of Philly’s coaches.

Written by the Big Five coaches
Latest Videos:
Also on
letter icon Newsletter