Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Inquirer Daily News

Owls, Explorers, Hawks schedules released

Temple’s basketball team, which returns four starters from a group that finished 26-8, will open its Atlantic 10 season on Jan. 7 at home against Dayton on the CBS Sports Network, one of 11 times the Owls will appear on national television. A minimum of eight will be on ESPN entities, while nine of their 16 conference matchups can be seen on some outlet.

Owls, Explorers, Hawks schedules released

Temple’s basketball team, which returns four starters from a group that finished 26-8, will open its Atlantic 10 season on Jan. 7 at home against Dayton on the CBS Sports Network, one of 11 times the Owls will appear on national television. A minimum of eight will be on ESPN entities, while nine of their 16 conference matchups can be seen on some outlet.

Xavier also visits the Liacouras Center, where the Owls have won 22 straight, on Feb. 11. They're at defending champion Richmond on Jan. 14.

The Owls play Saint Joseph's, LaSalle and Fordham twice. They travel to Saint Louis, Charlotte, Rhode Island and St. Bonaventure. And they'll host George Washington, Duquesne and Massachusetts.

The Owls, who've won their last 11 A-10 regular-season games, get Duke at the Wells Fargo Center on Jan. 4. They're at Texas on Dec. 17, and at Maryland on Jan. 21. They host Villanova on Dec. 10.

More coverage
 
Mike Kern: Bigger game for Temple or PSU?
 
VOTE: Which team is most likely to play in a bowl game?
 
Buy college apparel and college gear
 
Latest college sports videos

Temple opens at Penn on Nov. 14, and is in the Puerto Rico Tip-Off Tournament starting Nov. 17 in San Juan. Their first opponent is Western Michigan, the fifth Mid-American Conference team on the schedule. They'll play either Purdue or Iona in the second round. The other teams in the field are Maryland, Alabama, Wichita State and Colorado.

Here is the Owls’ schedule (home games in CAPS):

Mon. Nov. 14: at Penn

Thu. Nov. 17: Western Michigan (PR Tip-Off/ESPNU) San Juan, Puerto Rico, 10:30 a.m.

Fri. Nov. 18: at Puerto Rico Tip-Off (ESPNU*) San Juan, 1/3:30 p.m.

Sun. Nov. 20: at Puerto Rico Tip-Off (ESPN2*) San Juan, TBA

Sun. Nov. 27: at Bowling Green, 2 p.m.

Sat. Dec. 3 CENTRAL MICHIGAN, TBA

Wed. Dec. 7: at Toledo, TBA

Sat. Dec. 10: VILLANOVA, 5 p.m.

Sat. Dec. 17: at Texas, 2:30 p.m.

Mon. Dec. 19: at Rice, 8 p.m.

Wed. Dec. 28: BUFFALO, TBA

Fri. Dec. 30: at Delaware, TBA

Wed. Jan. 4: Duke at Wells Fargo Center 7 p.m.

Sat. Jan. 7: DAYTON, TBA

Wed. Jan. 11: at Saint Louis, 9 p.m.

Sat. Jan. 14: at Richmond, TBA

Wed. Jan. 18: LA SALLE, TBA

Sat. Jan. 21: Maryland, at Palestra, 11 a.m.

Wed. Jan. 25: at Charlotte, TBA

Sat. Jan. 28: SAINT JOSEPH’S, TBA

Wed. Feb. 1: FORDHAM, TBA

Sat. Feb. 4: at Rhode Island, 2 p.m.

Wed. Feb. 8: GEORGE WASHINGTON, TBA

Sat. Feb. 11: XAVIER, 9 p.m.

Wed. Feb. 15: at St. Bonaventure, 8 p.m.

Sat. Feb. 18: DUQUESNE, TBA

Wed. Feb. 22: at La Salle, TBA

Sat. Feb. 25: at Saint Joseph’s, TBA

Wed. Feb. 29: MASSACHUSETTS, TBA

Sat. Mar. 3: at Fordham, 1 p.m.

Tue. March 6: Atlantic 10 First Round (campus sites)

Fri. March 9: Atlantic 10 Quarterfinals (Boardwalk Hall)

Sat. March 10: Atlantic 10 Semifinals (Boardwalk Hall)

Sun. March 11: Atlantic 10 Finals (Boardwalk Hall)

---

La Salle’s men’s basketball team will open Atlantic 10 play at home on Jan. 4 against Xavier.

The Explorers will play a home-and-home series with George Washington, Massachusetts and Temple and also host Rhode Island, Charlotte, Saint Louis and St. Bonaventure.

La Salle will visit A-10 opponents Dayton, Duquesne, Saint Joseph’s, Richmond, and Fordham.

The Explorers open at home on Nov. 11 against Lafayette.

The schedule (home games in CAPS; times to be announced):

Fri. Nov. 11: LAFAYETTE

Tues. Nov. 15: at Villanova

Sat. Nov. 19: JAMES MADISON

Tues. Nov. 22: at Pittsburgh

Fri. Nov. 25: vs. Robert Morris (Palestra)

Sat. Nov. 26: vs. Rider (Palestra)

Wed. Nov. 30: NORTHEASTERN

Sat. Dec. 3: BUCKNELL

Wed. Dec. 7: at Towson

Sat. Dec. 10: ARMY

Mon. Dec. 19: at Delaware

Thurs. Dec. 22: at Central Connecticut State

Thurs. Dec. 29: BOSTON UNIVERSITY

Sat. Dec. 31: HARTFORD

Wed. Jan. 4: XAVIER

Sun. Jan. 8: MASSACHUSETTS

Tues. Jan. 10: at Penn

Sat. Jan. 14: at Dayton

Wed. Jan. 18: at Temple

Sat. Jan. 21: RHODE ISLAND

Wed. Jan. 25: GEORGE WASHINGTONA

Sat. Jan. 28: at Duquesne

Wed. Feb. 1: CHARLOTTE

Sat. Feb. 4: vs. Saint Joseph’s (Palestra)

Wed. Feb. 8: at Richmond

Sat. Feb. 11: SAINT LOUIS

Sat. Feb. 18: at Massachusetts

Wed. Feb. 22: TEMPLE

Sat. Feb. 25: at Fordham

Wed. Feb. 29: at George Washington

Sat. March 3: ST. BONAVENTURE

Tue. March 6: Atlantic 10 First Round (campus sites)

Fri. March 9: Atlantic 10 Quarterfinals (Boardwalk Hall)

Sat. March 10: Atlantic 10 Semifinals (Boardwalk Hall)

Sun. March 11: Atlantic 10 Finals (Boardwalk Hall)

----

Here is Saint Joseph's schedule:

Fri. Nov. 11: at Western Kentucky

Mon. Nov. 14: SCRANTON (Exhibition)

Charleston Classic

Thu. Nov. 17: vs. Georgia Tech

Fri. Nov. 18: vs. Seton Hall or VCU

Sun. Nov. 20: TBD (LSU, Northwestern, Tulsa, Western Kentucky)

Wed. Nov. 23: at Iona

Sat. Nov. 26: PENN STATE

Wed. Nov. 30: DREXEL

Wed. Dec. 7: BOSTON UNIV.

Sat. Dec. 10: CREIGHTON

Sat. Dec. 17: VILLANOVA

Wed. Dec. 21: COPPIN STATE

Wed. Dec. 28: MORGAN STATE

Sat. Dec. 31: at Harvard

Wed. Jan. 4: at Duquesne

Sat. Jan. 7: CHARLOTTE

Wed. Jan. 11 FORDHAM

Sat. Jan. 14 at Massachusetts

Wed. Jan. 18: at Xavier

Sat.  Jan. 21: at Penn

Wed. Jan. 25: DAYTON

Sat. Jan. 28: at Temple

Wed.  Feb. 1: at Richmond

Sat. Feb. 4: LA SALLE (Palestra)

Wed. Feb. 8: SAINT LOUIS

Sat.  Feb. 11: MASSACHUSETTS

Wed. Feb. 15: at Rhode Island

Sat. Feb. 18: at George Washington

Wed. Feb. 22: RICHMOND

Sat. Feb. 25: TEMPLE

Wed. Feb. 29: at St. Bonaventure

Tue. March 6: Atlantic 10 First Round (campus sites)

Fri. March 9: Atlantic 10 Quarterfinals (Boardwalk Hall)

Sat. March 10: Atlantic 10 Semifinals (Boardwalk Hall)

Sun. March 11: Atlantic 10 Finals (Boardwalk Hall)

Home games in CAPS at Michael J. Hagan '85 Arena unless noted

About this blog

Philly is a hoops town and Phillyhoopsinsider.com provides complete coverage of the Big 5 and Drexel with news and commentary from the people inside the game and those who cover it. Look for regular contributions from the Daily News team of college hoops reporters and from many of Philly’s coaches.

Written by the Big Five coaches
Latest Videos:
Also on Philly.com:
Stay Connected