Saturday, February 6, 2016

Lavoy Allen named to A-10 first team

Temple's Lavoy Allen was a repeat selection to the All-Atlantic 10 first team in voting by the league's head coaches.

Lavoy Allen named to A-10 first team

Temple´s Lavoy Allen was named to the Atlantic-10 first team. (Luis Alvarez/AP)
Temple's Lavoy Allen was named to the Atlantic-10 first team. (Luis Alvarez/AP)

Temple's Lavoy Allen was a repeat selection to the All-Atlantic 10 first team in voting by the league's head coaches.

Allen becomes the first Owls player to repeat as a first-team honoree since Dionte Christmas (2007-08, 2008-09).

Temple's Ramone Moore was named to the second team, Juan Fernandez made the third team and Scootie Randall was named honorable mention.

Xavier junior guard Tu Holloway was named Player of the Year. The A-10 coaches also selected Duquesne’s T.J. McConnell as the Rookie of the Year, Damian Saunders of Duquesne as Defensive Player of the Year, Temple’s Scootie Randall as the recipient of the Chris Daniels Award as the league's most improved player, Khalif Wyatt of Temple as the Sixth Man of the Year and Xavier’s Chris Mack as Coach of the Year. In addition, La Salle’s Steve Weingarten was tabbed Student-Athlete of the Year in voting among the league's sports information directors.

More coverage
Owls Inq: Owls back in Top 25
Owls Inq: A-10 honors Allen, Randall, Wyatt
Dick Jerardi: College basketball roundup

Holloway is joined on the All-Conference First-Team by Allen, Richmond senior’s Kevin Anderson and Justin Harper and St. Bonaventure’s Andrew Nicholson. Anderson becomes the first, two-time first-team A-10 selection in school history. Nicholson’s spot on the first-team marks the 11th time a Bonnie player as earned such a distinction and the first since the 2002-03 season when Marques Green was named to the first-team. Harper’s spot on the first-team marks the first time in school history that Richmond has landed two, A-10 First-Team honorees in the same year.

The All-Conference Second-Team includes Moore, Duquesne teammates Bill Clark and Damian Saunders, Rhode Island’s Delroy James, and Tony Taylor of George Washington. Teammates Mark Lyons and Jamel McLean of Xavier, Fernandez, Anthony Gurley of Massachusetts and Dayton’s Chris Wright were named to the A-10 Third-Team. Xavier’s Kenny Frease, Fordham’s Chris Gaston, Dayton’s Chris Johnson and Randall earned Honorable Mention acclaim.

McConnell is joined on the All-Rookie team by La Salle’s Tyreek Duren, Dwayne Evans of Saint Louis, Langston Galloway of Saint Joseph’s and Dayton’s Juwan Staten. The five members of the A-10 All-Rookie team were honored as the league’s Rookie of the Week a combined 18 times this year.

The A-10 All-Defensive team is comprised of Saunders, Lavoy Allen, Tu Holloway, Rhode Island’s Marquis Jones and Kevin Smith of Richmond. Saunders is a repeat selection from last year, while Allen is named to the All-Defensive team for the third year in a row.

Randall was tabbed the recipient of the Atlantic 10's Chris Daniels Award, presented to the Conference's most improved player. A year ago, the 6-6 forward averaged 1.9 points, 1.4 rebounds and shot 36.2 percent from the floor in 25 games. This season, he enters the A-10 Championship ranked third on the team in scoring (11.6 ppg) and fourth in rebounding (5.1 rpg), although he has been sidelined with an injury and his status is unclear.

Wyatt has provided a spark off the Temple bench, averaging 9.5 points, and 2.1 rebounds, while recording 48 assists and 37 steals. For the season, Wyatt is shooting 46.4 percent from the floor including 41.9 percent from long range. He has also been solid from the free throw line converting on 77.0 percent of his chances. Wyatt is the fifth player from Temple to garner Sixth Man of the Year honors.

This year’s All-Academic Team includes Weingarten, Saint Louis teammates Brian Conklin (Business Administration) and Paul Eckerle (Biology), Juan Fernandez (Broadcast Journalist) and Rhode Island’s Will Martell (Finance). Martell was also recognized on the All-Academic team a season ago.

 Mack claims his first Coach of the Year Award in just his second season at Xavier. Mack led the Musketeers to a 24-6 overall record during the regular season and a 15-1 mark in the A-10 to claim the regular season title and the No. 1 overall seed in the upcoming A-10 Men’s Basketball Championship for the fourth time in the last five years and eighth time overall.

We encourage respectful comments but reserve the right to delete anything that doesn't contribute to an engaging dialogue.
Help us moderate this thread by flagging comments that violate our guidelines.

Comment policy: comments are intended to be civil, friendly conversations. Please treat other participants with respect and in a way that you would want to be treated. You are responsible for what you say. And please, stay on topic. If you see an objectionable post, please report it to us using the "Report Abuse" option.

Please note that comments are monitored by staff. We reserve the right at all times to remove any information or materials that are unlawful, threatening, abusive, libelous, defamatory, obscene, vulgar, pornographic, profane, indecent or otherwise objectionable. Personal attacks, especially on other participants, are not permitted. We reserve the right to permanently block any user who violates these terms and conditions.

Additionally comments that are long, have multiple paragraph breaks, include code, or include hyperlinks may not be posted.

Read 0 comments
comments powered by Disqus
About this blog

Philly is a hoops town and provides complete coverage of the Big 5 and Drexel with news and commentary from the people inside the game and those who cover it. Look for regular contributions from the Daily News team of college hoops reporters and from many of Philly’s coaches.

Written by the Big Five coaches
Latest Videos:
Also on
letter icon Newsletter