Lidge Takes Fourth in Cy Young

The Baseball Writers' Association of America announced the National League Cy Young award winner today.

San Francisco righthander Tim Lincecum won as expected.

Brad Lidge, who went 41 for 41 in save opportunities this season, finished fourth behind Lincecum, Brandon Webb and Johan Santana. CC Sabathia and Ryan Dempster also received votes. Lidge finished with one second place vote and seven third place votes for 10 points. Lincecum received 23 first-place votes. Webb and Santana received four, and Sabathia received one.

Lincecum was 18-5 with a 2.62 ERA and led the NL in winning percentage (.783) and strikeouts (265). Webb was 22-7 with a 3.30 ERA. Santana was 16-7 and led the NL in ERA (2.53) and innings (234⅓).

Lidge was just the second closer in baseball history to save at least 40 games with a perfect save percentage. Eric Gagne went 55 for 55 with 2003.