Friday, November 27, 2015

Lidge Takes Fourth in Cy Young

The Baseball Writers' Association of America announced the National League Cy Young award winner today.

Lidge Takes Fourth in Cy Young


The Baseball Writers' Association of America announced the National League Cy Young award winner today.

San Francisco righthander Tim Lincecum won as expected.

Brad Lidge, who went 41 for 41 in save opportunities this season, finished fourth behind Lincecum, Brandon Webb and Johan Santana. CC Sabathia and Ryan Dempster also received votes. Lidge finished with one second place vote and seven third place votes for 10 points. Lincecum received 23 first-place votes. Webb and Santana received four, and Sabathia received one.

Lincecum was 18-5 with a 2.62 ERA and led the NL in winning percentage (.783) and strikeouts (265). Webb was 22-7 with a 3.30 ERA. Santana was 16-7 and led the NL in ERA (2.53) and innings (234⅓).

Lidge was just the second closer in baseball history to save at least 40 games with a perfect save percentage. Eric Gagne went 55 for 55 with 2003.

We encourage respectful comments but reserve the right to delete anything that doesn't contribute to an engaging dialogue.
Help us moderate this thread by flagging comments that violate our guidelines.

Comment policy: comments are intended to be civil, friendly conversations. Please treat other participants with respect and in a way that you would want to be treated. You are responsible for what you say. And please, stay on topic. If you see an objectionable post, please report it to us using the "Report Abuse" option.

Please note that comments are monitored by staff. We reserve the right at all times to remove any information or materials that are unlawful, threatening, abusive, libelous, defamatory, obscene, vulgar, pornographic, profane, indecent or otherwise objectionable. Personal attacks, especially on other participants, are not permitted. We reserve the right to permanently block any user who violates these terms and conditions.

Additionally comments that are long, have multiple paragraph breaks, include code, or include hyperlinks may not be posted.

Read 0 comments
comments powered by Disqus
About this blog

Jake Kaplan Inquirer Staff Writer
Bob Brookover Inquirer Columnist
Marc Narducci Inquirer Staff Writer
Matt Breen Inquirer Staff Writer
Latest Videos:
Also on
letter icon Newsletter