Victorino wins Gehrig Award

Shane Victorino has been selected as the recipient of the 2008 Lou Gehrig Award, presented annually by Phi Delta Theta Fratenrity to the Major League Baseball player who best exemplifies the giving character of Hall of Famer Lou Gehrig, who was a member of the Fraternity’s Columbia University chapter.  The award was first presented in 1955 and is permanently maintained at the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum in Cooperstown, New York.

Past Phillies who have won include Jim Thome, Curt Schilling and Mike Schmidt. Current lefthander Jamie Moyer, who will start tonight against the Brewers, won the award while a member of the Seattle Mariners.

A team of representatives from Phi Delta Theta and the Philadelphia Chapter of the ALS Association will present the award to Victorino at Citizens Bank Ballpark on July 4th when the Phillies take on the New York Mets at 4:05 PM.  The presentation will be a part of “4ALS”, a day celebrated throughout Major League Baseball to honor the 70th anniversary of Gehrig’s “Luckiest Man” speech and to raise awareness for ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis) also known as Lou Gehrig’s Disease.

 Originally scheduled to participate in this presentation was Phillies Hall of Fame Announcer and member of Phi Delta Theta, Harry Kalas.  Although he passed away prior to the presentation, Kalas will be with his Fraternity Brothers in spirit to present the award to Victorino.  Kalas had served as a member of the Gehrig Committee since 1994 helping select the winner each year and represented the committee at Veterans Stadium in 1995 when Curt Schilling won the award.

For more information, including past winners, log on to