Rollins, Victorino win Gold Gloves again

Jimmy Rollins and Shane Victorino are National League Gold Glove winners. ( Ron Cortes / Staff Photographer )

Shortstop Jimmy Rollins and centerfield Shane Victorino again took home National League Gold Glove awards today.

Rollins won for the third consecutive year and had a .990 fielding percentage, the best in the major leagues at his position. He committed a league-best and career-low six errors in 607 total chances. Among all NL shortstops in 2009, Rollins ranked second in games (152) and innings (1364.2), fourth in putouts (212), sixth in total chances and assists (389) and eighth in double plays (72).

Rollins becomes the fifth Phillie to win at least three Gold Gloves, joining Mike Schmidt (10), Garry Maddox (8), Manny Trillo (3) and Rolen (3). Last season, Rollins was the first Phillies shortstop to win the award in consecutive seasons (2007-09) and the first Phillie to do so since Scott Rolen (2000-01). The last NL player to win three straight Gold Gloves at shortstop was Rey Ordonez, of the New York Mets (1997-99).

“I would like to thank the managers and coaches who felt I was worthy of a Gold Glove Award,” Rollins said in a statement. “Defense is a very important part of my game and it truly is an honor to be recognized as one of the best defensive players in the league.” 

Victorino won his second consecutive Gold Glove. He made one error in 345 chances for a fielding percentage of .997. Last year, he made two errors in 323 chances.

He started a career-high 149 games in centerfield for the Phillies and led all NL centerfielders in fielding percentage, was second in games and innings (1330.1), fourth in both total chances and putouts (336) and was tied for fifth in assists (8). Victorino is the first Phillies outfielder to win the award in consecutive seasons since Maddox, who did so in eight straight seasons (1975-82).

“I take a lot of pride in fielding my position so it is an honor to be awarded with another Gold Glove this season,” Victorino said in a statement. “I would like to thank the managers and coaches who voted for me and who believe that I am one of the best in a league full of outstanding players.”

This is the 11th time in franchise history the Phillies have had multiple Gold Glove winners. It is the third straight year that the Phillies have had multiple winners (2007: Rollins and Aaron Rowand and 2008-09: Rollins and Victorino).

The list of winners:

First base: Adrian Gonzalez, San Diego

Second base: Orlando Hudson, Los Angeles

Shortstop: Jimmy Rollins, Phillies

Third base: Ryan Zimmerman, Washington

Outfielders: Shane Victorino, Phillies; Michael Bourn, Houston; Matt Kemp, Los Angeles

Catcher: Yadier Molina, St. Louis

Pitcher: Adam Wainright, St. Louis